REVIEW: The Older Woman by Cheryl Reavis

Older Woman (Silhouette Special Edition, No. 1445)Do you enjoy themes where there is an older woman and a younger man? Do you enjoy reading about smart, mature adults who are looking for happiness? How about a story told from the hero’s point of view? The Older Woman (SIM#1445) by Cheryl Reavis might just be the book for you.  I really don’t hear a lot about this author on romance message boards. She’s kind of under the radar. This was my first book by her and I love her authorial voice.  I’d tried reading some of her historicals but they didn’t quite work for me. I think I prefer her contemporary voice better.  Here is a synopsis of this book:

NO GUTS, NO GLORY…

Or so paratrooper Captain Cal Doyle believed.  But seduce tough-talking Nurse Katherine Meehan, who’d tended to him after his copter crash?  Impossible!  True, they were now next-door neighbors — yet they were years apart.  And while Kate had survived breast cancer, Cal had barely survived hell….

So just because Cal caught Kate crying in the rain… AND her fussy feline cozied up to him… AND the church ladies started matchmaking… AND Kate suddenly looked so damn desirable — were THOSE any reasons for a wounded warrior to woo a reluctant older woman?  Besides, between Kate’s stubborn defenses and Cal’s mule-headed machismo, could these two survivors… survive each other?

I really enjoyed this book and I’m not a big fan of series books of late. Cal and Kate’s romance was fun to read. I was fully engaged in the story and really enjoyed it. There is a serious side to this story in that Kate is a survivor of breast cancer. As for contrivances facing this couple,  her hang-ups about love is realistic and moving. Cal is a survivor as well and is at home nursing his injuries. He’s interested in Kate as a woman and doesn’t let something like age or her cancer scare him off.  This story is told from his pov. What a treat, that.  This is just a simple story of two people who are survivors of their own right who try to find love. Just a regular romance of two ordinary people who find love and solace with each other. A very quick, engaging read.  My grade, A.

I am looking forward to reading her next SIM story that’s due out March 2007, titled Medicine Man. Can’t. Wait.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Grade A Reviews, Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to REVIEW: The Older Woman by Cheryl Reavis

  1. Karen Scott says:

    Yes, to all of the above questions – Putting this on my Amazon wishlist!

  2. Karen Scott says:

    BTW, I like the look of the blog.

  3. jmc says:

    This was the first book that I ever read by Reavis, and I was utterly impressed by it. I’ve since read a couple of her historicals, and the Harlequin Next book she wrote last year. Excellent, excellent writer.

  4. jenreads says:

    I just re-read this book last week for the third or fourth time. I love how real the characters are and how Cal and Kate know each other. They don’t just lust for each other. I’ve already ordered Medicine Man from eHarlequin. The best part is that it starts at Cal and Kate’s wedding reception. Oh, and I love Mrs. Bee

    If you like this book, I would highly recommend the other books in this series as well as her books set on the reservation. Almost all of them are keepers. I especially like the one about Meggie.

    Jen

  5. AAR Rachel says:

    I didn’t know about her upcoming Medicine Man. I’ll have to put that on my wish list. I really liked The Older Woman and many of her others too. Basically, Reavis is always a good read for me.

  6. Wendy says:

    Reavis is under the radar because she doesn’t churn out a book every other week 😉 That’s my working theory anyway.

    She’s one of the few authors that work for me in different sub genres. I like her historicals, I like her contemporaries. That said, her contemporaries currently outnumber her historicals in my keeper stash. I liked The Older Woman a lot (keeper) but love The Long Way Home. I really need to do some rereading….

  7. Kristie(J) says:

    I read this one when it first came out since I love older woman/younger man books and it is very good! I also like her historicals – and they are westerns. She does seem to slip right under the radar doesn’t she?

  8. Avid Reader says:

    I have dig out my copy of her series book in the NEXT series. Blackberry Winter, I think it’s called. I guess one book per couple of years will make you fall under the radar 🙂

Leave a comment