Ten Thoughts on The Hurt Locker

hurt_locker_poster_m

I finally watched The Hurt Locker, a 2008 film directed by Katheryn Bigelow and written by Mark Boal. My interest in watching it is mostly due to my anticipation of Zero Dark Thirty. The Hurt Locker has almost universal acclaim and picked up major awards including Best Picture Oscar. Here are my thoughts on the movie as a late-comer. Impressions and thoughts:

1) First, I’m a fan of military and war films
2) I’m a big Jeremy Renner fan of late
3) The director achieved what she wanted: an immersive film experience
4) The film’s suspense is driven by its characters
5) Jeremy Renner’s performance in the movie was memorable
6) Dismantling bombs, talk about an adrenalin rush! Scary and exciting
7) This movie made me curious about Explosive Ordnance Disposal Technicians (EOD) and the search results coughed up an old Reddit article that did an Q&A with a real one
8) While I enjoyed the movie and it has garnered critical acclaim, there is an vocal group of dissenters on Amazon decrying its accuracy (I know, who cares).
9) For all the criticisms of the film being inaccurate and unrealistic, at the end of the day this is a Hollywood movie
10) What I will take away after watching the movie? Off the top: Camaraderie, courage, team work, the tenacity of the human spirit

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

