What's on my Buying List for 2011?

Here are the books that I plan to read in 2011 and it’s not very many.

1) The Night Season by Chelsea Cain. This is an ongoing series that started with Heart Sick in 2007. Cain can write suspense really, really, really well so I am looking forward to reading this one. I’ve already received the arc for it so look for a review. The series features a female serial killer and is set in Portland.

2) The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta – listed this one to remind other readers that Marchetta has new book coming out in March 2011. I bought my copy from Australia. I think I prefer their cover as well. Anyway, the story centers around Thomas Mackee, one of the few memorable characters from Saving Francesca.

3) While everyone waits for The Snowman by Jo Nesbo in the U.S., I’ll be reading The Leopard that’s due out Jan 20th or around there in the UK. I don’t wait for his books to come to the U.S. because they take too long. According to Trisha, The Redeemer hasn’t even been released in the U.S. yet and I’ve already read it.

4) Colin Cotterill, a new author I discovered last year with The Coroner’s Lunch, has a new series that set to release in July, titled Killed At the Whim of a Hat. Description on the page says: When crime reporter Jimm Juree is forced to follow her family from Chiang Mai to a fishing village on the Gulf of Siam, she’s convinced her career is over. Her journalism will surely dwindle to reports on the annual monsoon-induced floods, for what crimes could possibly happen in such an out-of-the-way place? Answer: plenty. A local palm oil plantation owner and his worker are excavating a well. They dig down six feet and hit metal. It turns out to be the roof of an old Volkswagen combi, which, once unearthed, is found to contain two skeletons – one of them wearing a hat. A monk is murdered in Lang Suan, the nearest town. There is apparently no motive for the killing and no suspects are found. But there are odd connections between this killing and several others. Suddenly Jimm’s new life becomes somewhat more promising – and a great deal more dangerous

5) Last but not least, One Was A Soldier by Julia Spencer-Flemming which is I think the seventh book in the series featuring Rev. Clare Fergusson and her relationship with Russ Van Alstyne who is the police chief of Miller’s Kill. The last book left the couple at a crossroads so part of me is anxious to read this one.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What's on my Buying List for 2011?

  1. Tee says:

    In addition to The Night Season by Cain, in the suspense department, I’m also looking forward to–

    Watch Me Die by Erica Spindler
    You Belong to Me by Karen Rose
    Snapped by Laura Griffin (liking her more and more as she writes)
    Love You More by Lisa Gardner
    Now You See Her by Joy Fielding
    Secrets to the Grave by Tami Hoag

    Well, there are more, but these are the top ones. Unfortunately, I never got into Julia Spencer-Flemming. Have a problem with the characters.

    Hope all is well with you and your spare time is being managed good enough.

  2. Keishon says:

    Hi Tee,

    Great list! Which Laura Griffin should I start with that shows improvement with her writing? Sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy JSF. In fact you’re the first but I’m sure there are more out there. I notice that I blog in spurts so we’ll see. I’ve finally found some good books to read so that makes a difference too. Thanks Tee.

  3. Tee says:

    The books I enjoyed by Laura Griffin were all in the Tracer series so far–
    Untraceable
    Unspeakable
    Unforgivable
    Snapped (coming in Aug 2011)

    Unforgivable was by far the best and most recent, but all three mentioned above were great.

    In addition, the following earlier books by her were quite well done.
    One Wrong Step
    One Last Breath

    All her books show good writing style, but in some, the stories were not to brag about, along with some of the characters (they’re not listed here). If you find the time to try some of hers, let me know your thoughts. We don’t always agree, for sure, but many times we’re in the ballpark.

    Julia Spencer-Flemming also writes well. Have a problem with the main characters’ situation and issues, though, considering she’s a minister. It was a turn-off for me almost from the get-go and I just couldn’t get past it. Tess Gerrritsen had something similar going on with Maura, her main character, and a priest. Didn’t like it either, but for some reason, I was more invested already with her books and decided to ride it out. I’m glad I did. As far as I can see, it’s been resolved, or so it seems. (Hey, and I’m Catholic, so it was a double-hitting blast for me. LOL)

  4. Amy says:

    Oh, Tee — I just requested Secrets to the Grave from the library. Loved the first book in that series.

  5. Tee says:

    @Amy:
    Deeper than the Dead by Tami Hoag—wasn’t that a good one, Amy? She was really the Hoag of old, so to speak. A small relationship in a great suspense story? How much more can you ask? You’ll have to let us know how you like Secrets to the Grave when you finish reading it. Most likely, I’ll share all too. My book will be coming from the library, too; so who knows how long a wait it’ll be.

  6. Trisha says:

    I’m not Tee, but thought I’d chime in re: Laura Griffin. Although it seems my preferences are the opposite of hers. Anyway, I haven’t read all her books, but Whisper of Warning is my favorite. Though if people have problems with Courtney’s backstory (or the lack of it; haven’t read the older sister’s book, so don’t know if it’s explained there) or some of her actions, I think I can see why. I like the Tracers series well enough so far, but not as much as Whisper of Warning.

  7. Keishon says:

    @Trisha: I think I have Whisper of Warning. Thanks for the input Trisha. As an aside, I also bought Lori Armstrong who I am told is very good suspense writer as well.

Leave a Reply

