Movie: True Grit (2010) – written by Charles Portis, adapted to the screen by the Coen Brothers

Just got back from watching Joel and Ethan Coen’s latest film, True Grit (opens with music), written and adapted for the screen from a Charles Portis novel. Here are my brief thoughts: I’ve never seen the original movie with John Wayne, Kim Darby and cast. I thought the 2010 version of the film was beautifully shot and well acted. It was a bit unpredictable in spots. For me the movie’s success hinged on actress Hailee Stienfeld’s performance as the stubborn daughter, Mattie Ross, looking to hire a U.S. Marshall to track down the man who shot and killed her father. I had to do a double take to see that it was Matt Damon playing Texas Ranger LaBoeuf. If you enjoy westerns, highly recommend seeing this film. I mainly went because I am a big fan of the Coen’s brothers films that started with Raising Arizona in 1987.

Usually I don’t feel moved to read the book after watching the film but after watching True Grit, I’m interested. Unfortunately, I don’t see any of Charles Portis’s book in digital format and what a shame. I think somebody missed the boat there. I’m a big fan of westerns and enjoyed Unforgiven by Clint Eastwood but I think True Grit is a film strictly for those who enjoy the western genre. Jeff Bridges was good as Rooster Cogburn. What I liked most about the movie was the scenery and the story. Good movie.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movie: True Grit (2010) – written by Charles Portis, adapted to the screen by the Coen Brothers

  1. Angela James says:

    Unfor­tu­nately, I don’t see any of Charles Portis’s book in dig­i­tal for­mat and what a shame. I think some­body missed the boat there.

    I tweeted something very similar a few weeks ago. That I was shocked they hadn’t capitalized on movie’s release to get a digital release of book out. I wonder who owns those rights? Probably the author’s family. Wonder if any publishers have contacted them to buy those?

  2. Keishon says:

    @Angela James: I know! What a missed opportunity!

  3. sondra says:

    I saw the 1st True Grit as did my husband and this new one is terrible. We kept asking each other if this was some sort of comedy, sprinkled with very gross violent pockets from out of the blue and you had to try to figure out -why?? The acting seemed to be 3rd grade efforts with wacky dialogue that was inconsistent and characters that were, to us, totally unbelievable. Jeff Bridgers artificial “gruff voice”, over – acting as a drunkard, undershot of the bad guys “bad teeth”, Matt Damon’s silly quotes about the Texas Rangers, his outfit and appearances in and out of the scenes were very confusing. Then the end – oh my. Sorry – but it was awful.

  4. Keishon says:

    @sondra: No need to apologize. Someone else in my acquaintance thought the same thing. The movie did make me want to read a Portis novel and so I will do that.

Leave a Reply

