Denee Cody's Medieval Romances

I was rearranging my bookshelves yesterday for the millionth time and came across Denee Cody’s medieval romances. I bought and read two when they first released: The Golden Rose (1998) and Queen of the May (1997). She wrote two earlier titles that I don’t have: The Conquered Heart (1995) and The Court of Love (1996). Just four historical romances set in the medieval period and that’s it.

My question to any reader passing by and is familiar with this author: do you know what became of her? Does she write under another pen name? I really enjoyed the two titles I read by her and I know I bought The Conquered Heart but I can’t find it. I’ve gotten rid of a lot of paperbacks due to space constraints but am debating on buying those two titles used. Good medieval romance is hard to come by these days and I’m in the middle of a reading funk at the moment.

Here is an interview by the author posted at All About Romance that touches on the importance of historical research written in 1997. Here are excerpts:

Since what I write is fiction, my job is to weave a romantic story around the core of history. But what of romantic love in an historical context? While I firmly believe that in all cultures and all ages men and women have fallen in love, the idea of marrying because of that infatuation is a fairly modern concept. The idea of marrying for anything but romantic love seems alien to modern readers. So there is an immediate dichotomy between historical reality and reader expectations.

I agree with this assertion:

Fiction is about people. If a writer can create characters that a reader cares about, the reader will “believe” any story the writer puts the people in. That is why there is such a wide variety of fiction available. Writers can make little green monsters from Mars real. But it’s when writers make readers care what happens to the little green monsters that fiction works.

There is a contract between a writer and a reader. When I pick up a book to read for pleasure I expect the writer to have created a world for me to lose myself in. That world can be modern day New York City. It can be another planet a million years ago. It can be this world 200 years from now. It can be ancient Rome or medieval London or colonial America. If the writer makes it real, I will believe it.

We only got four stories from her before she disappeared from the romance community. If you’re out there Ms. Cody, I just want to say to you: I loved your books and your voice is missed in the romance community. I didn’t realize or forgot that Jayne from Dear Author reviewed The Conquered Heart in 2007.

So much for reminiscing, who are good medieval writers of today? I might want to check them out. Thanks.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Denee Cody's Medieval Romances

  1. Trisha says:

    No idea what happened to her. If she is still writing, I’d love to know, too! The Conquered Heart is one of my favorite romances, and I also somehow missed the DA review.

    Taking a look at my book log for this year, the only medieval I read was Scoundrel’s Kiss by Carrie Lofty. Which I liked, but then it’s the sort of book that’s right up my alley. (Not set in England! Complex female protagonist!) Besides this one, it seems like the only medievals being published are Harlequin Historicals. And honestly, I want to like HHs on principle alone because it’s not just Regencies, but more often than not, I end up not finishing the HHs I try. Although I suppose I could just be picking the wrong books.

  2. Keishon says:

    @Trisha: I’ve tried to read some of the HH’s so I guess we both are picking up the wrong books. Will look at the Lofty title. Thanks Trisha!

Leave a Reply

