Cover/Plot: Moonlight Mile, Dennis Lehane

Moonlight Mile is the sixth book in the Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro series is scheduled to be released on 11/2/10. Plot synopsis is below:

Amanda McCready was four years old when she vanished from a Boston suburb in 1997. Desperate pleas for help from the child’s aunt led savvy, tough-nosed investigators Kenzie and Gennaro to take on the case. The pair risked everything to find the young girl — only to orchestrate her return to a neglectful mother and a broken home.

Now Amanda is 16 — and gone again. A stellar student, brilliant but aloof, she seemed destined to escape her upbringing. Yet Amanda’s aunt is once more knocking at Patrick Kenzie’s door, fearing the worst for the little girl who has blossomed into a striking, bright young woman who hasn’t been seen in two weeks.

Haunted by the past, Kenzie and Gennaro revisit the case that troubled them the most, following a 12-year trail of secrets and lies down the darkest alleys of Boston’s gritty, blue-collar streets. Assuring themselves that this time will be different, they vow to make good on their promise to find Amanda and see that she is safe. But their determination to do the right thing holds dark implications Kenzie and Gennaro aren’t prepared for … consequences that could cost them not only Amanda’s life, but their own

cited as written by Wikipedia

Patrick/Angie series in reading order:

A Drink Before the War (1994)
Darkness, Take My Hand (1996)
Sacred (1997)
Gone, Baby Gone (1998) (sequel is Moonlight Mile)
Prayers For Rain (1999)
Moonlight Mile (2010)

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cover/Plot: Moonlight Mile, Dennis Lehane

  1. Bev Stephans says:

    I’m glad to see there will be a sixth book in the Kenzie/Gennaro series. I honestly liked this series better than any of his other books. I realize that is heresy to some, but it is my personal opinion and I’m sticking to it.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    @Bev Stephans: Before I read Shutter Island, I would have said the same but “Mystic River” and “Shutter” were two fantastic books. I haven’t read The Given Day yet but all of this is to say that I seem to enjoy all of his books. Can’t wait to get my hands on that one though.

  3. I have the first book in this series still sitting on my “To Be Read” shelf and really should make time for it sometime!

  4. Avid Reader says:

    @Janine Ballard: Yes, you should. The first book while good, is not his best efforts so keep that in mind. I think you would like him a lot. He writes about moral ambiguity really, really well.

  5. Pingback: Shutter Island: Blu-Ray (Phoenix/Sikelia/Appian Way 2010) Paramount Video Home | Blu-ray Movie Reviews Blog

  6. Pingback: SHUTTER ISLAND: Blu-Ray (Phoenix/Sikelia/Appian Way 2010) Paramount Home Video | Blu-ray Movie Reviews Blog

  7. Dana says:

    I am so THRILLED! Dennis Lehane is a great author and Patrick and Angela are my favorites! I absolutely can’t wait. Thank you!

  8. Avid Reader says:

    @Dana: I can’t wait either! You’re welcome.

  9. James says:

    I agree with Bev 100%. These were his best stories. I just hope Bubba and even the Toomee brothers are in this tale. I had heard that Lehane was done with Patrick and Angie. I have already pre-ordered the book. He writes them with amazing skill.

  10. Mary Ann says:

    @Bev Stephans: I agree with you, Bev! Although Mystic River is very good, I am very excited that the Kenzie/Gennaro series is continuing.

  11. Patti says:

    I was reading a review, and the reviewer said at the end that is was “sad for series fans”, I love Patrick and Angie, but am afraid one of them gets killed, or do you think it could mean the end of the series?

  12. Keishon says:

    @Patti: I’m hoping it is sad because it is the end of the series….I hope he doesn’t kill anybody off. That would be bad.

  13. oldfan says:

    Just started the book yesterday and its great to have Patrick and Angie back. Best of all to see what Bubba is up to!

Leave a Reply

