Romance Rollback: The Rainbow Season by Lisa Gregory

This is not a review but a quick and dirty overview. I read this book years ago and enjoyed it. The Rainbow Season by Lisa Gregory (1989) was one of those most talked about books on message boards at the time. It’s a historical romance with a tortured hero. Lisa Gregory still writes under Candace Camp today. Here is a teaser of a hard to find book that’s worth finding for those readers who enjoy older romances.

The world called him bad, tough, and wild…until a special woman dared to love him

“Are you my woman?
“I am your wife.”
“Ah, but are you my woman?” he said and bent his head to nuzzle her hair. “Do you know what it means to be a woman? My woman?” He breathed close to her ear and shivers of excitement darted through her. “Sally, you’re so beautiful. Do you know what you do to me? Let me love you. Let me make you a woman.
“Luke, you are drunk,” she said shakily. She was excited and yet scared –he was so different from usual, so strong, so suddenly demanding, as though he’d unleashed the power and wildness normally kept under such tight control. Sarah was not at all sure that this Luke would not hurt her…

Sybil, your copy is on the way…

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Romance Rollback: The Rainbow Season by Lisa Gregory

  1. Tee says:

    I read this book a long time ago, Keishon, and really loved it. Haven’t ever reread it. Wonder how it would hold up in today’s market with me?

  2. Avid Reader says:

    @Tee: As I was writing out the teaser, I briefly thought the hero’s words to the heroine sounded kinda corny there….(lol)

  3. Tee says:

    @Avid Reader: The ’80s was a whole different playground in romance fiction, wasn’t it? Candace Camp has remained strong with me in her writing, though. I still faithfully read her stuff.

    Off topic—what you’re reading now, Angela Hunt’s “Let Darkness Come,” is an excellent novel. I read another of hers within the last couple of years, “The Face,” and absolutely loved it too. I didn’t know at the time that she’s considered a Christian writer, but these two books weren’t written quite in that way, even though there were bits and pieces scattered around. I will definitely read her new issues again.

  4. Avid Reader says:

    @Tee: I didn’t know she was a Christian writer. Interesting. I read a really good review of this book at the Mystery Reader. Glad to know you enjoyed her books. I’ve been meaning to ask you: have you read 212 by Alafair Burke yet? Her next Ellie Hatcher book?

  5. Tee says:

    @Avid Reader: I did read 212, Keishon, but didn’t enjoy it as much as the previous two novels. Don’t know exactly why, though. I will continue reading her just to see if it was the mood I was in at the time.

  6. sybil says:

    email me! I am pretty sure you moved since the last time I mailed you something. At least I think you did!

    And thank you *g*

  7. sybil says:

    The Face? Wasn’t that a MIRA? I have that somewhere or did…

  8. Avid Reader says:

    @sybil: Actually, yes, it is a MIRA paperback from 2008. Shows to be out of print on paper but available as a Kindle and maybe other places…so far though, “Let Darkness Come” is reading pretty good. @Tee

  9. sybil says:

    I want to say I have two by her or the one after The Face (If I haven’t trashed it already for lack of rev). If you want tis yours.

Leave a Reply

