Random Reader Remarks: The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin by Josh Berk

The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin by Josh Berk (Feb 2010) is a YA novel that features a kid who is deaf and overweight. He decides to leave his “deaf school” to attend “public school.” I randomly came across this title looking through someone’s Amazon list of “realistic” YA novels of which Melina Marchetta was apart of the same list. Of course, I go through the Amazon reviews and zoomed in on this comment, the only two star review titled “Could Have Been”:

I almost put the book in the trash twice as I read it. The deaf teen’s perspective and the quick witty style of writing kept me reading until the end. Then I put it in the garbage. I have older teens and often passed my ‘young people’ books to them – but not this one. There was too much potty-mouth notwithstanding such language is ‘normal’ in public schools. I found the scenario of sex between teacher and student a poor choice of diversion from the solution of the murder by a pregnant teen – who got very little sympathy; the revelation of the truth was couched in a somewhat nonchalant tenor. Could have been a great book.

Think I will give it a look anyway.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Reader Remarks: The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin by Josh Berk

  1. Maili says:

    Would it be predictable of me if I say, “I’m getting that one!”? Yes, I think so as well. 😀 I admit I’m sceptical about his lipreading skills, but I’m giving the book a try anyway.

    I recently bought Frances O’Roark Dowell’s ‘Dovey Coe’ because of this opening line (not just because Dovey’s brother is deaf):

    “My name is Dovey Coe, and I reckon it don’t matter if you like me or not. I’m here to lay the record straight, to let you know them folks saying I done a terrible thing are liars. I aim to prove it, too. I hated Parnell Caraway as much as the next person, but I didn’t kill him.”

  2. Avid Reader says:

    @Maili: Ohhh that one sounds interesting! Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

