Suzanne Brockmann Writing Contemporary Romances Now?

This is kind of a late post but I was just looking on Amazon and ran across Suzanne Brockmann’s upcoming original paperback titled, INFAMOUS (July 2010). Looks like some type of western but it clearly says that it’s a contemporary romance with some suspense. My first reaction to the cover was shock and then glee. I was personally tired of her Navy SEAL books and was secretly wishing she would get back to writing contemporary romances.

Here is the synopsis:

When history professor Alison Carter became a consultant to the film version of the Wild West legend she’d dedicated her career to researching, she couldn’t possibly have known that she would not only get a front-row seat to a full-blown Hollywood circus but would innocently witness something that would put her life in peril. Nor did she expect that a tall stranger in a cowboy hat would turn the movie—and her world—completely upside down.

A. J. Gallagher didn’t crash the set in dusty Arizona to rub elbows with Hollywood’s elite. Unable to ignore ghosts from the past that refuse to stay buried, A. J. came to put an end to the false legend that has tarnished the reputation of his family. But when he confronts Alison, sparks fly. And when Alison is targeted by ruthless criminals, suddenly she and A .J. must face the intense attraction that threatens to consume them—and survive the danger that threatens their very lives.

Hope the book’s contents is just as good as that cover seems to imply (to me anyway). One reader made mention that contemporary romances are making a comeback. I was never really averse to contemporary romances. I just found a lot of them very boring. Conflicts in most of them were formulaic, predictable and uninteresting. I like stories that captivate me and challenge me. I like my stories dark and complex.

Ms. Brockmann, don’t let me down. Other Brockmann titles I’ve enjoyed that are maybe out of print or hard to find these days starting with her categories The Admiral’s Bride and Love With the Proper Stranger and her single titles, Heart Throb and The Body Guard. Please note that I haven’t reread all of these titles so my warm fuzzy feelings stem from my memories of these stories from when I first read and enjoyed them.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Suzanne Brockmann Writing Contemporary Romances Now?

  1. Kwana says:

    Suzanne spoke at our RWA chaper brunch and told us about this. She was very excited about it. I can’t wait to read it too.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Welcome Kwana! I guess we’ll be anticipating this one together then. Take care.

  3. sybil says:

    I had forgotten about this until I got the ARC the other day. Hope to start it today or tomorrow after I finish some other crap. And a good book I am reading. REALLY need to type up some reviews since I have read so many books lately they are going to all run together.

  4. Avid Reader says:

    @sybil: Good! I can’t wait to read them! Especially the Brockmann.

  5. Rosario says:

    I’ve always loved Brockmann in spite of the fact that she wrote about SEALs, so I’m really looking forward to this one!

Leave a Reply

