Diana Gabaldon Reads Dana Stabenow Too

Title of Post: The Methadone List (April 27)

For those who like series, mysteries, books with rich, idiosyncratic settings, engaging characters, Strong Women (which frankly, I think is getting to be something of a cliché’—not the women themselves, of course, but the mention of them as a talking point for a book. I mean, who recommends a book by saying, “The heroine is a weak, whiny, wilted piece of toast—but it’s a great book!”) and reasonably hot sex on occasion….let me recommend Dana Stabenow

She’s right about the sex scenes. Loved reading this next part though:

I like Dana’s Liam Campbell series even better (the German translator who has worked on both our books, and has read all Dana’s mysteries, says that Liam Campbell is the closest thing she’s seen to a modern-day Jamie Fraser—and the sex is particularly good in those), but the three Campbell books are unfortunately out of print at the moment (totally worth finding on eBay, alibris, or abebooks, though), and no more under contract, which is a shame.

Never mind all those negative reviews you find at Amazon about the Liam Campbell series. If you read them, most are complaints directed at how much romance is in the series. For some that’s a negative but for me, it was a positive addition to the series.

So if you enjoy Julia Spencer-Fleming, then I would suggest this mystery series to you as well. Please understand, the only similarities between them is that they are both mysteries with a strong romantic subplot. I think Dana Stabenow is very talented author. I just never got around to reading her Kate Shugak series. I guess I must start since I am now reading that the Liam Campbell series is not under contract.

In other book news, Stuart Neville won The Book Prize for his debut novel, The Ghosts of Belfast. I enjoyed Neville’s post-Troubles novel featuring a hero who was an ex-IRA hit man forced to face his demons and redeem himself. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. Yes, this is a series.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings, SidePosts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Diana Gabaldon Reads Dana Stabenow Too

  1. willaful says:

    Loved the Liam Campbell books. (There are four, incidentally.) My library had them.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Yay, a fellow fan. I bought them all when they first came out. The series is very good. Humorous as well. Thanks willaful.

  3. Bev Stephans says:

    I’m sorry to hear that the Liam Campbell books are not under contract. It was a good series (I think there were five books), but I also like the Kate Shugak series. Give them a try. I don’t think Dana Stabenow can write a bad book!

  4. bahamia says:

    Thanks for the tip! I found the 1st in the Liam Campbell series, Fire and Ice, on Kindle for .99! I am just coming down from inhaling all six Julia Spencer-Fleming books. Her next one won’t be out until Feb 2012!

  5. Avid Reader says:

    @bahamia: 2012 is an awfully long time to wait. Hopefully, the Liam Campbell books will keep you entertained. I love them. Enjoy and thanks for stopping by!

  6. Avid Reader says:

    @Bev Stephans: I have pulled the Kate Shugak book from my bookshelf. Plan to tackle it soon.

Leave a Reply

