Comics: Irredeemable written by Mark Waid and Peter Krause (Illustrator)

IRREDEEMABLE (BOOM! Studios 2009) written by Mark Waid and illustrated by Peter Krause with the afterword provided by Grant Morrison. I am posting about the digital edition of this comic book. If you have an iPhone or better yet, an iPad, you can download the first 9 issues via Comixology app (link is to iTunes). The cost is $1.99 for each issue and it’s an in app purchase. This is an ongoing series.

Now don’t go and scatter away. I realize that most of you don’t read comics. Fair enough. But I’m an avid reader of just about anything. If you’ve been visiting my blog on a regular basis then you already know that graphic novels, manga and comics are what I also like to read alongside crime fiction and romance. Maybe this story will entice you to give them a try. Maybe.

I decided to post about IRREDEEMABLE (Amazon link) because I thought the story was neat. I read the first 5 issues without batting an eye. The story is as follows: it’s about a superhero who has gone rogue. Has this ever been explored before? Probably but I haven’t read it. According to creator, Mark Waid, the premise or the idea behind the story is thus:

“What if you go from, you know, Captain America to Doctor Doom? What if you go from Superman to Lex Luthor? How do you go from being the greatest hero in the world — someone that everybody knows, and everybody loves, and everyone recognizes — to the greatest villain in the world? What is that path? It’s not a light switch, it’s not an on-off switch, it’s not something that you wake up one day and just become evil.”

Mark Waid on the basis for Irredeemable[8]

Doesn’t that sound intriguing? The Plutonium was a apart of the group, the Paradigm. In flash backs we see that he was a superhero recognized and well loved all over the world. Then something happens to make him snap. Out of the blue he attacks his long-time sidekick with a blow to the back of the head. Then he goes into a rage and attacks innocent civilians, killing millions of people.

He’s made Earth a wasteland. His former team members are on the run because he’s hunting them. They start up a resistance that is led by Mr. Qubit but they can’t seem to meet in one place for long without being attacked by their former teammate. What happened? Nobody seems to know. That’s the whole point of this series: to figure out what went wrong and why. Does that sound overly complex to you?

The few team members who are left that make-up the rest of the Paradigm are trying to gather what info they can to stop the Plutonium but it’s hard for them to do so. There’s an urgency to find out his weaknesses because they don’t know jack shit about him. Simple things like where did he come from? Nobody knows his origins. But the funny thing is, the Plutonium seems to know all of their little secrets. What about his enemies? What do they know about him? Who is the Plutonium afraid of? Come to find out that yes, there is one enemy who put the fear of god into the Plutonium but, oh-oh, he’s gone missing.

No doubt, the Plutonium goes buck wild in here. Going on killing sprees and using his superpowers to do harm rather than good. His former colleagues are hurting for info because without it they can’t stop him. What’s also bad is that the Plutonium is stronger than all of them. He is beyond caring about humanity.

I stopped at issue #5 just so I can write this summation and to squee that this series is seriously good. Also, I am already a big fan of Mark Waid. He wrote another series I bought and read digitally, Hunter Killer series. It’s about a group of super humans hidden from the world.

With Irredeemable, Waid decides to explore the psyche of what makes one go from a hero to a villain. I guess that be can fun. I know I find it interesting and a puzzle to figure out what made him do a 180 degree turn. I just hope that I am rewarded for my dedication in seeking the truth.

Yes, there’s some humor in here at the villain’s unrepentant and irredeemable behavior. The “oh god you’ve got to be kidding me” kind of humor. The series is told in present and past tense. Mark Waid’s “Irredeemable” series has been nominated for an Eisner award which put it on my radar. That’s like the Oscars for comic book writers. I certainly recommend Irredeemable to those who enjoy comics. At least for me, the series seems promising. I’ll do a review of all nine issues when I’m done. Meanwhile, it’s a B+ read for me thus far.

Notes: I’m fairly certain that Irredeemable is available in paperback at your local brick and mortar bookstore or comic bookstore. I know they are available digitally as mentioned above for $1.99/issue and there are a total of 9 issues thus far and again this is an ongoing series. I prefer character driven stories of which this is one. If you enjoy this comic book series, I would recommend Hunter Killer as well.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in B+ Reviews, Book Reviews, Grade B Reviews, Graphic Novels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

