No Thanks, Apple, Already Have An Ereader


This is short and sweet as I’m sure many of you could care less for this topic but this is how I feel about Apple’s new creation (and no, nobody asked me). Here we go: No, thanks. The iPad changes nothing for me. In fact, it’s just a big iTouch with an ebook app among other things that pretty much duplicates everything I can very well do on my iPhone already, thank you very much. Except for screen size, really, what is the difference? And don’t get me started on the iBook store (mouthing:expensive).

To quote Amazon (from PC Magazine),

“Customers can read and sync their Kindle books on iPhones, iPod touches, PCs, and soon Blackberrys, Macs, and iPads. Kindle is purpose-built for reading. Weighing in at less than 0.64 pounds, Kindle fits comfortably in one hand for hours, has an e-ink display that is easy on the eyes even in bright daylight, two weeks of battery life, and 3G wireless with no monthly fees–all at a $259 price. Kindle editions of New York Times Bestsellers and most New Releases are only $9.99.”

Yeah, I laughed. Anyway, I’ll be sticking with my Sony Reader, Apple. Thanks but no thanks. If I was rich, maybe I’d entertain one of these but, I live in the real world and can’t justify the cost. Rain check?

Notes: Full article title is Amazon Responds to Apple’s iPad and story was brought to my attention by fellow Twitterer mfmakichen. Thanks.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in SidePosts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Thanks, Apple, Already Have An Ereader

  1. bahamia says:

    I upgraded to the iphone for an e-reader device. Until all e-books come in a standard format compatible with all readers, I see no need to invest in single use device just for reading. My iphone is fragile enough without worrying about a maxi version.

Leave a Reply

