The Morning Report

I subscribe to a lot of interesting blogs & websites (probably yours, too). This post is just an array of topics from the previous week that can range from books to movies to who knows what that I ran across and wanted to share. If it’s interesting, weird, news-worthy, thought-provoking or provocative, I’m posting it.

Sarah Monette Has A New Pen Name & A New Publisher

Was a little shocked to learn that Sarah Monette’s Labyrinth series was a disappointment sales-wise for her publisher. I enjoyed the first two books in the series, Melusine and The Virtu. All are available in a digital format at your favorite etailer. To describe her fantasy novels, I would have to use words like “dark” and “angst-ridden” along with “probably offensive” and “unusual.” Doesn’t that sound like some good reading?

The stories tended to be episodic in nature with an over arching theme that had a cast that included blood witches, haunted labyrinths led by an ex-cat burglar and a maddening bourgeois wizard who was gay. She’s now at another publisher (Tor) writing under the name, Katherine Addison. Thanks, Li for blogging about this.

Animation: Hayao Miyazaki’s Ponyo

I love Hayao Miyazaki’s films! My favorites are Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle. So, naturally, I want to see Ponyo, which is coming to DVD [Blue-Ray + Standard DVD] in March, 2010. From the looks of the review from Patrick’s Fantasy’s Hotlist blog (he has the trailer posted too), this story seems to be aimed more at kids. That’s okay. I have a 5 year old niece who would love this movie (right alongside her auntie).

Television: Late Night Anyone?

My goodness. First of all I find all this news about Jay Leno and Conan O’Brien with their time slots being pushed back amusing because who the heck still watches late night tv talk show hosts? Who watches Leno or Conan? David Letterman is about the only one that I watch if I am even watching regular TV at all but other than that, who the heck cares. I never thought Conan was funny. Ever. And I thought Jay Leno had retired.

Yet Another Manga Title to (Look For) Read

Via MangaBlog Viz Media will be releasing Fumi Yoshinaga’s All My Darling Daughters which sounds really good when you read the description: “often-tempestuous relationship between a single career woman and her mother.” Well, put like that maybe not but it does involve..a man. A much, younger man. I don’t know how I will like this but I am curious. As if I don’t have enough graphic novels to read already?!? (Real, Slam Dunk, Emma, Vagabond, Vampire Knight and on and on).

Have a good day.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings, SidePosts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Morning Report

  1. Renee says:

    My 6yo loved Ponyo, and so did my husband and I. It is definitely aimed at a younger audience than Miyazaki’s other films. And, the song is a total earworm. My kid was singing it for days after seeing the movie!

    I’m sure we’ll be picking it up on dvd when it’s released. (Though I’ve been seeing it in the Japanese supermarket I go to for months now. I’m sure, however, it’s not the dubbed/subtitled version.)

  2. Lynn Spencer says:

    Oh, I love Spirited Away! The first time I saw it, I started it over again as soon as I reached the end. I had no idea the director had a new movie coming out; I’ll definitely have to see it.

  3. Avid Reader says:

    Thanks for stopping by ladies!

    @Lynn Spencer: Oh my gosh, I can’t recall how many times I watched Spirited Away. I love the story.

  4. Li says:

    I love your summary of the Monette books – you make me want to read it, and I already have 😉

    And I adored Howl’s Moving Castle, both the book and the adaptation, which is slightly out of the ordinary, because I usually like either one or the other. I’ve been meaning to watch Spirited Away for ages, thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

