TBR Challenge 2010 Sign-Up


The TBR Challenge is a challenge set up to assist readers who are serious in reducing their tbr piles. Take a look at your accumulated stacks of books and decide if you want to participate this year. The rules are simple and participation is voluntary and open throughout the year. BTW, this is a sticky post that will remain until the end of this week. UPDATE: The TBR 2010 INFO PAGE now available. It’s also in my nav menu (look up)

For this challenge I ask that you do two things:
1) post your review(s) on the designated day of the month
2) aim for the books that have been in your tbr piles the longest

You bought these books from somebody’s rec or review, right? So now is the time to read them! No formal review format is required. You shouldn’t have to buy any books for this challenge but then I will leave that up to you to decide. I will have the info page up and running soon.

Needless to say this is a self-directed challenge and it’s supposed to be fun. This can be a rewarding experience in that you probably might find a terrific book that you’ve had all along in your stacks. Through this challenge I’ve discovered some great reads like Charlaine Harris’s Dead Until Dark that I’d had in my stacks for 7 years before I decided to read it. So you just never know what you may find in your tbr pile.

The themes for the challenge are suggestions only. You are free to read whatever you want from your stacks of books. Resources will be made available for readers who choose to search out books for themes listed. I like to keep track of all those who participate so if you are interested in participating this year please leave a comment with a link to your blog.

That’s it! Questions? Please leave them in the comments. Let’s read some good books!

Proposed Themes for 2010 and please throw in some ideas as well. Most of these themes are from the Special Title listing edited by Rachel Potter. Make sure to look through tbr piles and see what you got.

Category Romance
New To You Author(s)
Friends to Lovers
Unrequited Love
Historical Romance
Contemporary romance
Romantic suspense
Marriage of convenience
Westerns
Mystery and suspense
Marriage in trouble
YA fiction romance
Heroes in pursuit
Virginal hero
Unusual professions
Not Your usual setting (non England or US settings)
Mystery
SFR
SF/F

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to TBR Challenge 2010 Sign-Up

  1. I’m in. I don’t think I did a great job last year, at all, but I do have books in my TBR pile I really want to read. So I’m hoping I do better this year. Thanks for running this, Keishon!

  2. Tee says:

    Sounds like fun; but, sorry, no TBR piles here whatsoever. As I get them, I read them and usually from the library. But I’ll enjoy the challenge from your monthly weigh-ins!

  3. janicu says:

    OK. This year I’m going to do it. THE TBR WILL GO DOWNNNN!!!

  4. Phyl says:

    I’m in again. This was a helpful discipline for me. Thanks for keeping it going!

  5. ~ames~ says:

    For sure I’m in! I need all the help I can get reducing my tbr monster. LOL

  6. Samantha says:

    I’m signing up again. I hope I can make a bigger dent in my TBR pile this year.

  7. Leslie says:

    My tbr pile(s) is huge and I desperately need help getting control. I would love to join. Thanks for hosting Keishon. 🙂

  8. animemiz says:

    Definitely good luck for the participants. I would join in if my books to be read pile weren’t the pile it was. I have a lot of reference non-fiction, heavy reading to do.. (sighs)..

  9. Renee says:

    I’m in! 🙂
    The extra incentive of a challenge was really helpful in prioritizing my tbr over the new and shiny.
    Thanks for hosting again, Keishon!

  10. SarahT says:

    I’m definitely in. I already have my eye on a couple of suitable TBR books!

  11. Wendy says:

    I am soooo in this year. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for the updated information page.

  12. nath says:

    I’m in again this year! I’ve missed some months in 2009, now it’s time to get back on track!! 😀

  13. Maili says:

    I still have massive piles of graphic novels, horror novels, and translated novels.

    Is it possible to chuck in a new category: a translated novel (any genre)?

  14. Avid Reader says:

    @Maili: Sure! You know I have a ton of graphics I need to read as well.

  15. Lisa says:

    I’m in! I have such a huge TBR pile (and box and bookcase…). Several of those I’m supposed to be reviewing, so I need something to kick-start the process. Great idea. Most of what I’ll be reading will be SF, SFR, or PNR.

  16. Pingback: Lisa Paitz Spindler, Danger Gal»Blog Archive » 2010 TBR Challenge

  17. Amy says:

    I’m in! And this year, I’m not bowing out for 2 or 3 months like I did last year!

  18. senetra says:

    I’m in again!

  19. >2) aim for the books that have been in your tbr piles the longest

    Oy, have I got a long way to aim! I have a Kage Baker title that’s been sitting in my hard drive for over a year. I will commit to reading that for sure.

  20. Avid Reader says:

    @Heather Massey: Heard great things about Kage Baker but am intimidated.

  21. Amy says:

    I missed the whole link to the blog thing, and since my icon isn’t working for some reason, here — http://amyscorneroftheworld.blogspot.com/

    Maybe one suggestion for themes or genres, if you will — inspy? There’s a couple I’m tempted to try, and I know there are a few from last year, at least, that looked good.

  22. Avid Reader says:

    @Amy: Thanks Amy. Will def. add it. I’ve been meaning to try a few as well.

  23. Lori says:

    I’m in again this year. I did great last year until the end and then dropped the ball in November & December. This year I’m determined to do finish all 12 months.

  24. Lisa says:

    @Avid Reader: Don’t be! I’ve got EMPRESS OF MARS on my TBR pile, so I need to read that ASAP.

  25. Rowan says:

    I’d love to join in. My TBR mountain is threatening to topple and take me out in the process.

    Giving myself an excuse to read sounds like an absolute win. 🙂

  26. Gail D. says:

    I signed up last year, then fell apart after, like, one month. Maybe two. Though I think I read a fair number of the books. I didn’t post reviews of them. Didn’t have time.

    But I still have a Very Large TBR pile, so I want to give it a whirl again…

    Um–what day are we supposed to post the reviews? Did I miss reading something, or do I need to check back here often enough to know, or what? (feeling slow)

    Here’s the link to my list: http://bit.ly/8pIocw

  27. Avid Reader says:

    @Gail D.: here is the TBR 2010 info page with dates and themes and….THANK YOU everybody for participating with me this year.

  28. Janine says:

    I won’t be participating this year (alas, the lure of new books is too strong for me) but I will be following participants’ posts with interest. Happy reading to all of you!

  29. ag says:

    hi keishon,

    Am hoping to do better this year, so could you please count me in?

  30. Jessica says:

    This is so important to me, now that I have a TBR pile that gives me nightmares, that I am spending one of my precious few minutes of South African internet access to sign up.

    Do I have to pick a theme? Hope not, but will when I get back if so.

    Hope all is well!

  31. SonomaLass says:

    Sign me up! My TBR pile isn’t as bad as some, but it’s bad enough — especially my e-pile, because I don’t read on my laptop as much as I think I will when I download books.

    I love, love, LOVE Kage Baker. Several of her books are on my library TBR list, which I intend to include in this challenge if they fit the themes. But her new short book, The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, is in my handbag right now, and I’m not waiting another week on that one!

  32. Avid Reader says:

    @Jessica: Hey, girl, no you don’t have to use any of the themes (although I am hurt), just read from your stash. Thanks for participating!

    @SonomaLass: will add your link and thanks for participating! I have like over 500 ebooks ….uh,yeah, we won’t go there.

  33. SonomaLass says:

    @Avid Reader: I am a free-e-book whore; to quote SB Sarah, I go “free cheezy bread free” and download stuff I would NEVER pay for. OTOH, I buy intriguing books (esp novellas) that are only available in digital form, but I really am not a habitual e-reader yet, by any means. I continue to believe that the iUnicorn will change this.

  34. Avid Reader says:

    @SonomaLass: Oh god, please don’t mention the iUnicorn *g* Since all I have is my iPhone and my Sony Reader to keep me company. But I agree, it will change the game completely.

  35. Gail D. says:

    I have bitten the apple and read my Series Romance for January already.

    Then I read two more for good measure, because I splurged on the Blogger Bundles at eHarlequin bundled by Dear Author & Super Librarian. I read Arm Candy & The Doctor’s Wife yesterday. (I didn’t get the other bundle, because it was all Presents, and it’s not my favorite line.)

    Anyway, I’ll try to remember to post the blog on the proper date. 🙂

    Oh yeah. And I’m using your themes–but I may not read them for the “proper” month. I have to be in the right mood for some things…

  36. Avid Reader says:

    @Gail D.: can completely understand about reading in moods….glad you’re participating and thanks for reminding about the blogger bundles. Will hit those as well.

  37. ReneeW says:

    Oh, man, sign me up too. My TBR is steadily getting under control is some part due to your TBR Challenge. But I have to admit I only posted 4 times in last years challenge. Oh well, could have been worse.

  38. jillyfae says:

    Well, I’m definitely trying again this year too… not that I did well for 2009, but I’m already digging through some backlists to figure out what fits. 😀 Should be fun.

  39. Janet W says:

    I too have a huge TBR pile: I hope it’s not too late to join in! Does this book fit the criteria? Wednesday’s Child by Gayle Wilson. Published by HQN — seems like it’s romantic suspense?

  40. Avid Reader says:

    @Janet W: Yes! It fits. My themes are only suggestions. Mainly, most readers will read whatever they want since it’s their tbr pile. I haven’t read Gayle Wilson in a long time.

  41. Mervi says:

    I have a huge TBR so I’m in!

  42. Avid Reader says:

    @Mervi: added your link and thanks for participating!

  43. Heloise says:

    Sign me up. I’m in need of some structure. 🙂
    I’ll get one ready for February.

  44. Pingback: The Secret History of the Marketing of Lauren Willig’s Debut Novel « Read React Review

  45. Daisy says:

    I’d love to play, but the only book currently in my TBR pile is one by Oliver North that my Dad gave me and I don’t wanna read it. : (

    Have fun though. I am looking forward to the reviews!

Leave a Reply

