Interesting Links (Maybe)

First, let me say that I’ve had a difficult time reading anything of late. My problem is that I can’t seem to focus on anything right now but I am finally reading again thanks in part to Sandra Brown’s newest book, Rainwater, a historical fiction novel. I’m told it’s a tearjerker and I really don’t care for tearjerkers but I will persevere anyway.

While browsing the ‘net, there were some interesting stories that grabbed my attention that you might want to read about as well (or maybe not).

Discontinued Series

According Book Binge, Susan Andersen’s Sisterhood Diaries Trilogy has been discontinued. The author has already written two books in the series, Cutting Loose and Bending the Rules with the third book probably never to be published. I’ve been down this road before, how about you? This practice is a slap in the face to the audience who are reading these stories. Unfortunately, publishing is a business and if the sales aren’t there, then well what you have is a unfinished series.

Amazon Vine Program

PW decided to shed some light on Amazon’s Vine Program. What I found interesting was this part:

A PW examination of Amazon Vine found answers to some of those questions. It turns out that publishers do pay Amazon to be in the Vine program—a fact that’s not mentioned on the online bookseller’s site.

I’ve written my thoughts about Amazon’s review program. Will leave it at that.

Online Pricing Wars = Consumer, Win-Win

I’m all for what’s cheapest for the consumer. Publisher’s worries are not my worries. Yet, the pricing wars between Amazon, Wal-Mart and Target is an interesting one. When all is said and done, it’s a win-win for the consumer.

Jim Cameron’s Next Big Hit: Avatar

My sister told me about this movie called “Avatar” the other day. What? What is that? Avatar? Never heard of it. I was told that it was being directed by Jim Cameron. Oh-OKAY then. Yes, let me see what this is about because I’ve enjoyed his films (Abyss and all of his Terminator movies and of course, Aliens). Big budget (check) and here is a teaser. I don’t know what to think but it looks interesting! Due out next month.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interesting Links (Maybe)

  1. Wendy says:

    The Andersen news is a real head-scratcher since the first two books in that trilogy landed on the NYT Bestsellers list for mmpb. That’s the part I really don’t get. I mean if a bestselling series can get the ax, what does this news mean for debut/midlist authors? I’m wondering if there’s not more to this story…..

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Interesting….obviously I didn’t know that they hit the NYT. I’ve seen less than favorable reviews for those two books…

  3. Wendy says:

    @Avid Reader:

    Yeah, both of them cracked the top 15 on the mmpb list. Granted I don’t know how that translates to number of copies sold – but I’m thinking they had to sell halfway decent to make the list. And if she didn’t “sell through” – why not just reduce the print run on book three? Why cancel it outright?

    The whole thing is just odd.

  4. Janine says:

    I hear you about the frustration of discontinued series. Hate when that happens.

    Thanks for the heads up on “Avatar”! I had give up on James Cameron ever making anything but underwater documentaries in the wake of “Titanic.” I’ve enjoyed most of his work, even “The Abyss” so I’m jazzed about his return to the multiplex.

Leave a Reply

