Top Ten Classic or Obscure Films

dogfightWhat has inspired these sets of posts about movies recently? Well, I’ve been going through my DVD collections and sorting them into piles – ones to keep and ones to give away. The following are movies that I think are awesome and maybe even timeless?

10. MEN DON’T LEAVE (1990) Life after the death of a spouse, I found this movie quite scary and emotionally gripping. Why isn’t it available on DVD? The movie starred Jessica Lange, Joan Cusack and Chris O’Donnell. Director: Paul Brickman.

9. DOGFIGHT (1991) This is one of River Phoenix’s better movies. I also enjoyed him in RUNNING ON EMPTY. The ending of ‘Dogfight’ is somewhat ambivalent but a movie worth watching. Phoenix plays a soldier who comes to a small town looking for the worst looking date to take to “dogfight.” It’s a contest of sorts to see who brings the worst date to the party. He brings Lili Taylor, who shows him that she is more than what she appears. Excellent movie. It was after Phoenix death that I heard about this movie.

8. A WALK IN THE CLOUDS (1995) This is a very romantic movie. I went to see this one in the theatre. I had such a crush on Keanu Reeves at the time. Sigh. Admittedly, he is hot in this movie.

7. MARVIN’S ROOM (1996) I went out of my way to buy this movie as it resonates with me on a emotional level that it’s hard to explain. The film stars Diane Keaton and Meryl Streep who play estranged sisters who are brought back together again under unfortunate circumstances. Excellent movie. Leonardo DiCaprio plays Streeps troubled son. All around excellent performances.

6. COME BACK LITTLE SHEBA (1956) Film stars Burt Lancaster and Shirley Booth. I used to watch this movie a lot for some reason. Obsessed over it even. It has stayed with me over the years.

5. SHAG (1989) One of my favorite movies! About four friends driving down to Myrtle Beach to meet boys and have fun. Out of all the hook-ups, the couple that stood out for me was Annabeth Gish and Scott Coffey’s characters.

4. LOVE STORY (1970) “Love means never having to say you’re sorry.” Or something like that. I watched this movie just about to death while I was in college. Heartbreaking and tragic lovestory. Bought this one too.

3. DREAM LOVER (1994) This movie had a very good twist at the end. This movie could be best described as psychological suspense and good psychological suspense at that. Excellent movie.

2. AN AFFAIR TO REMEMBER (1957) When I moved out of my parent’s house, my mother hid this movie from me. Or as she likes to say, she is borrowing it. What is there to say? This movie inspired another great film, SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE.

1. SABRINA (1954) Starring Audrey Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart. Love, love love this movie and it was not what I had been expecting. I never did watch the remake with Harrison Ford. I actually don’t think I ever will.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top Ten Classic or Obscure Films

  1. Rosie says:

    My husband and I found a WALK IN THE CLOUDS by accident and really love that movie. Although Anthony Quinn steals scenes right and left.

    You are so right to stay away from the remake of SABRINA. Nothing can touch the original. I’m not so fortunate…

  2. Tee says:

    I can only think of one movie (although I know there are many more) that have stood the test of time with me. It is–

    “To Kill a Mockingbird” with Gregory Peck.

    Excellent, excellent movie and very well acted. I even went back to read the book after I first saw it.

  3. How do you remake any Audrey Hepburn film, especially SABRINA?

Leave a Reply

