Top Ten Romantic Comedies

when harry met sallyRomantic comedies aren’t what they used to be and I can’t recall when I’ve seen one worth mentioning OR watching more than once. Anyway, I was inspired by this list of top grossing romantic comedies and wasn’t surprised to see MY BIG FAT GREEK WEDDING sitting at the top. That was a good film.

Favorite movie moments? I love the scene in BRIDGET JONE’S DIARY where Colin Firth tells Renee Zellweger’s character that he likes her just as she is. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve hit the back button to watch that scene over and over again.

I still heart WHEN HARRY MET SALLY and that movie is like 20 years old. The famous scene where Meg Ryan fakes an orgasm in front of Billy Crystal in a restaurant and someone says “I’ll have what she’s having.” Priceless.

I’ve watched BULL DURHAM, a movie about baseball, like a million times. Was this Kevin Costner’s best movie? BTW, am I the only one to have watched and enjoyed PRELUDE TO A KISS with Alec Baldwin and Meg Ryan?

The story in PRELUDE TO A KISS has a unusual premise that mainly addresses how well we know the people we love inside and out. In the movie, an elderly gentleman crashes the wedding and asks the groom [Alec Baldwin] if he can kiss the bride [Meg Ryan] and when they kiss, well, something weird happens.

Enough with going down memory lane. Here is my top ten romantic comedy list. This is a well thought out list, too, so no mocking and please feel free to share your own!

10. SLEEPLESS IN SEATLE (1993)
9. MY BIG FAT GREEK WEDDING (2002)
8. PRETTY WOMAN (1990)
7. MY BEST FRIEND’S WEDDING (1997)
6. BRIDGET JONE’S DIARY (2001)
5. CLUELESS (1995)
4. BULL DURHAM (1988)
3. SAY ANYTHING (1989)
2. PRELUDE TO A KISS (1992)
1. WHEN HARRY MET SALLY (1989)

Tomorrow I plan to post some of my favorite classics…Cary Grant anyone? Humphrey Bogart?

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Top Ten Romantic Comedies

  1. Angie says:

    Aw, how fun. That’s a great list! I, too, am a huge fan of that same scene in BRIDGET JONES’ DIARY. So good…Now you’ve got me thinking about which ones would be on mine. Hm.

  2. L Tinsey says:

    Colin Firth and Hugh Grant fighting was the funniest thing I have ever seen! The best romantic comedy imho is When Harry Met Sally!

  3. willaful says:

    Not a big fan of most romantic comedies; I think “Prelude to a Kiss” is the only Meg Ryan movie I really like. I am particularly fond of the twist at the end… how to word this without spoilers… that the weird thing happened because of *her*, not just because of *him*.

  4. SarahT says:

    Despite loving romance novels, I’m not much of a fan of romantic comedies. That said, ‘My Best Friend’s Wedding’ is one of my favourite comfort films. ‘Clueless’ was also fun. I actually haven’t seen the Meg Ryan films! I might have seen ‘Say Anything’ many years ago. It sounds vaguely familiar.

  5. Avid Reader says:

    willaful: Not a big fan of most roman­tic come­dies; I think “Pre­lude to a Kiss” is the only Meg Ryan movie I really like. I am par­tic­u­larly fond of the twist at the end… how to word this with­out spoil­ers… that the weird thing hap­pened because of *her*, not just because of *him*.

    I know, which shocked me actually because it didn’t make a whole lot of sense to me and that scene where he [Alec Baldwin] had to – kiss her despite being unable to be physically attracted to her – was a true test of love.

    @Angie, you must share as I’d be curious.

    @Sarah – yeah SAY ANYTHING is one of my favorites.

    @L Tinsey – agree. I can never get tired of watching When Harry Met Sally.

  6. MichelleM says:

    I busted out laughing reading the top ten list because I just bought “Clueless” for $5 in the bargain bin at Walmart. That one was a staple for me all through HS. I feel like there are so many priceless jokes that will probably be way over teens head’s nowadays.

  7. jmc says:

    I love While You Were Sleeping. Bill Pullman is just so sweet and goofy in that movie.

    And as for classics, Gregory Peck’s Joe Bradley in Roman Holiday slays me everytime I watch the movie. Plus, well, Rome.

  8. Karen W. says:

    Great list, and you’re not alone – I also loved “Prelude to a Kiss.” I even have it on VHS. 🙂

  9. Maili says:

    The only film on your list that I truly liked is Say Anything, and the only film I haven’t seen is My Big Fat Greek Wedding. Bull Durham and Clueless were enjoyable and rewatchable.

    I deeply disliked Pretty Woman and Sleepless in Seattle. Can’t remember much about My Best Friend’s Wedding except I liked Cameron Diaz’s performance. Same for Prelude to a Kiss and When Harry Met Sally. I think it’s because I’m not keen on Julia Roberts and Meg Ryan. 😀

    I still can’t make up my mind about Bridget Jones’s Diary. It’s a love-hate thing. 😀 I think I liked this better than Four Weddings and a Funeral (I still think Andie McDowell was miscast).

    IMO, Kevin Costner’s best film performance to date is in A Perfect World (some might argue that No Way Out is better). I enjoyed his performances in Bull Durham, Fandango and Silverado, though.

    I had a look at the top 100 list and none of my top 10 favourite American rom coms is listed. Not a single title. Here goes:

    Benny & Joon
    The Lady Eve
    Hope Floats
    Love at First Bite
    Cutting Edge
    Shag
    My Man Godfrey
    Harold and Maude
    The Apartment
    Say Anything
    For Love of Ivy (flawed but good sly fun and Sidney Poitier (who created this story) thoroughly stole the film. Also, this film has a popular romance plot: blackmails hero into dating heroine and he eventually falls for her)

    Non-American rom coms: Truly, Madly, Deeply; Strictly Ballroom; Bella Martha (aka Mostly Martha; just found out it was remade as a US film: No Reservations, starring Catherine Zeta Jones and Aaron Eckhart); The Frog Prince (US title: French Lesson); My Tutor Friend; The Abduction Club. There are more, but I’m talking too much, so will stop!

  10. Tee says:

    Can’t think of ten right now, but I probably will once the post times out. Here are mine that I could watch over and over and I think are done very well and romantic to boot!

    Love with the Proper Stranger (old as dirt, but I love it!)
    Moonstruck
    Last of the Mohicans
    While You Were Sleeping
    Ladyhawke
    The Sound of Music
    The African Queen
    Strictly Ballroom

  11. Kailana says:

    I love When Harry Met Sally! Such a great movie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

