Paranormal Short Story and Authors Digitizing Their Backlists

Remember Theresa Weir, the romance writer? Who wrote some of my favorite stories like Amazon Lilly, American Dreamer and Cool Shade? She also writes very good suspense under the name of Anne Frasier, too (Play Dead, Sleep Tight, Pale Immortal).

The Replacement by Anne Frasier: Paranormal Short Story

the replacement by anne fraiserI recently read THE REPLACEMENT (Kindle version, $1.00 and also on Scribd). As short as this story is and according to the page count on my Kindle app – 22 pages (2,000 word count), this was seriously good but short. Too short.

As the title suggests, THE REPLACEMENT is a paranormal short that involves a dead body, black magic, a cemetery, college frat kids and a reanimation kit. I hope the author will seriolusly consider making this short short story into a longer length novel. The moral dilemma the hero faces in this story is quite interesting if it were to fully play out. Food for thought, Ms. Fraiser.

Make Those Backlists Into Ebooks!

Wish more authors would do this – making their backlist accessible to readers in digital format, if they own the rights to their books that is (must throw in that cravat). Michelle Jerott (who also writes as Michele Albert) does this already with her early books and the prices are really cheap for these full length novels like All Night Long, A Great Catch, which were excellent reads, btw. In fact you can download and read Absolute Trouble for free.

Also, Anne Frasier aka Theresa Weir is also in the process of making her backlists available in ditgal format via Kindle. She’s starting off with one title, BAD KARMA (and one I have but yet to read). The ebook will be available on Amazon and Scribd tentatively next week so make sure to look for it. I am very excited that she is taking steps to make her hard to find print books accessible again to old and new readers alike.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Paranormal Short Story and Authors Digitizing Their Backlists

  1. Coral says:

    There are people outside of the USA who would be interested in author’s backlists and where Kindle readers aren’t available. I would think something like .html or ePub would be more universal (please avoid .pdf files, yuk! – no flow). But I think it’s great that authors are taking the initiative to control their works and have them available to their now worldwide audience forever plus no DRM.

    • Avid Reader says:

      Hi Coral,

      I did ask Ms. Fraiser if she would make her digital books accessible to non-Kindle readers and so she just might but it will take time. Amazon offers authors easy access to make their work available digitally whereas others do not (that I know of).

  2. Estara says:

    Looking beyond romance books have you seen the efforts of some very well-known female sf&f writers to do just this?
    Book View Cafe Home
    Wave Without A Shore
    Very encouraging. I could wish more would jump on board.

  3. SarahT says:

    I would love for more authors to make their OOP titles available to readers as ebooks, preferably without geographical restrictions. For example, I’ve been wanting to read the Patricia Gaffney’s ‘To Have & to Hold’ for years but I don’t want to buy an expensive used copy.

  4. Ann-Kat says:

    That would be awesome of more and more authors would begin to do this. And definitely no DRM*…if that whole fiasco with the Wal-Mart Music/Movie store taught us anything.

    *Any industry folks reading this comment, we aren’t saying no DRM because we’re pirates or thieves, we just like feeling secure in knowing we can enjoy the content we’ve paid for for as long as possible and not need to worry about losing access because a server somewhere goes down.

  5. Ann-Kat says:

    By the way, I don’t have a Kindle, so I couldn’t purchase it from Amazon. After a quick check, I see that it’s also for sale at Scribd for anyone else who wants to give it a read. 🙂

    And out of curiosity, Coral, why no PDFs? I actually prefer the PDF version to straight HTML.

  6. senetra says:

    SarahT: I would love for more authors to make their titles avail­able to read­ers as ebooks, prefer­ably with­out geo­graph­i­cal restric­tions. For exam­ple, I’ve been want­ing to read the Patri­cia Gaffney’s ‘To Have to Hold’ for years but I don’t want to buy an expen­sive used copy.

    SarahT, depending on where you are, if you are able, try requesting it via ILL. I just checked WorldCat, and there are about 170 copies cataloged in the US, UK, and Canada. It was even released as a trade, which might make getting it easier.

    I’m a little annoyed by all the Kindle love. I have a Sony and I buy a lot of books and wouldn’t mind getting MJPs new book for free!

    Ann-Kat, pdf files are hard to convert, don’t always resize the font well (at least on the Sony), and are impossible to convert if they’re Adobe digital editions.

  7. Avid Reader says:

    @Ann-Kat, thanks for the Scribd link! I added it.

  8. SWesley says:

    I adore Anne Frazer’s books she wrote as Weir. I have tracked down copies of all of them and have savored every single one.

    Good to know she is doing this. I hope more readers will discover what a truely unique voice she was in romance. Wish she’d write more.

  9. Coral says:

    @Ann-Kat
    I use an iPod Touch to read books and I don’t think PDFs are “mobile” friendly ie the text doesn’t wrap to fit the screen if you re-size the text. Yes, the whole page displays but is so tiny that I found I had to zoom in and then scroll… tedious to read every line. I read Karin Slaughter’s interview with Lee Childs just recently on my iPod Touch and choose the PDF option, had to finish reading it on the Mac. I don’t think the PDF was originally intended for use on these devices, therefore the limitations. html on the other hand is supported by most readers or can be easily converted. But basically it comes down to my personal preference…
    @Estara – thanks for the links, checking them out now…

  10. Estara says:

    senetra:
    pdf files are hard to con­vert, don’t always resize the font well (at least on the Sony), and are impos­si­ble to con­vert if they’re Adobe dig­i­tal editions.

    *cough* unless you use illegal scripts to break the DRM.

  11. Ann-Kat says:

    @Coral: That makes sense. I’m usually only reading the PDFs on my laptop or printing them so I can bring a hard copy with me. Rarely do I even *attempt* to read a PDF file on my mobile, but you’re right that it’s much easier to read the HTML. Hmmm, food for thought.

Leave a Reply

