Next Wednesday, June 17, TBR Challenge

calender1 It’s that time again, to remind readers that next Wednesday is the next TBR Challenge day. This month’s theme is to read a story that features a tortured hero or heroine. If that theme doesn’t suit you then read whatever you like from your stockpile and review it with us on Wednesday, June 17. After all, you’re the boss. My guy isn’t a tortured hero, btw. No. He’s more like a highwayman. Can you guess the book? Are there a lot of books that feature highwaymen? See you next Wednesday!

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Next Wednesday, June 17, TBR Challenge

  1. SarahT says:

    Hmm. Julia Quinn’s ‘The Lost Duke of Wyndham’ features a highwayman. I can’t think of any other recent books featuring highwaymen, but then I read so few historicals these days in comparison to a few years ago.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Tsk, tsk SarahT: It was Pale Moon Rider by Marsha Canham (1999). Already started it. The question is: can I finish it? Sigh.

  3. SarahT says:

    I know I read a few Canhams back in the day but I don’t remember that one. The Quinn wasn’t very good, so you’re not missing anything.

  4. senetra says:

    I decided on my book last night. Thanks for the reminder of the date.

  5. Janine says:

    I’m about a quarter of the way into the book I chose. The heroine certainly has a lot to be tortured by, but she has a lot of emotional armor and doesn’t acknowledge it, at least at this point.

  6. Amy says:

    Finally found one! The Veil of Night by Lydia Joyce — according to the AAR website, this one features a tortured heroine.

  7. Janine says:

    My review is now up. The book is Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta.

Leave a Reply

