A Few Announcements

Just wanted to inform you all that I will be joined by two other readers in providing reviews. As you are aware, Senetra contributes to the TBR Challenge on a monthly basis already but she will also be providing the occasional review from her own library of books and Scarlett Moore from BestFantasyStories.com will be providing us with urban fantasy reviews on a monthly basis.

As for myself, I am focusing more on mystery reviews with a preference for those with a romantic subplot (but not required) versus straight romance reviews. Actually, that’s a not a new announcement. I love romance and there is a little of everything for everybody. But lately for me, I find myself impatient with the existent trends that are currently popular right now – vampires, werewolves and were-creatures of every variation accompanied by characters who are trained assassins or bounty hunters. Don’t even get me started on the historicals and straight contemporaries. Not for me right now.

I think I am still tied to the past when the golden age of romance had authors like Judith McNaught, Mary Balogh, Laura Kinsale and Judith Ivory (all historical romance writers) among others cranking out hits one after the other (or so it seemed). Don’t get me wrong, I look forward to reading new authors everyday and I am especially excited about Meredith Duran and her next two historical novels (yes, I will be reading and reviewing those as well). There will always be the exceptions of course for writers whose work I already read will always be reviewed here.

Well, that’s it. I just wanted to inform you of the semi-new changes. If you’ve read this blog on a regular basis, you already know I read just about everything under the sun and I will continue to do that. It’s kind of hard to label my blog anything because it doesn’t have a central theme but as the title suggests: I am an avid book reader because I love reading genre fiction (so unoriginal). With that said, I will close this topic now and say thank you to those who visit this blog on a regular basis even when it’s not updated daily. I hope to continue to bring new and talented authors to your attention. Thanks.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Few Announcements

  1. Jessica says:

    You know, it’s blogs like yours, and Rosario’s and Kristie’s and Wendy’s that last the longest and that I admire the most because they are based purely on your love of reading and not other ambitions. There is a purity there that I really love. I look forward to reading more from your partners and congratulations on the changes!

  2. Phyl says:

    I enjoy the reviews even if sometimes the genre is one I don’t want to read. I just like to know what’s out there. I look forward to the changes.

  3. Renee says:

    I love the variety of genres you cover. It’s always fun to see what you are reading. One of the joys of “blog-keeping” is being able to write about what excites you. That enthusiasm keeps things interesting and fresh. πŸ™‚

    Welcome Scarlett and Senetra. Keep up the great work, Keishon!

  4. Tee says:

    Count me in with the above posters and what they said. I enjoy coming to this site, even though, as you said, it’s not necessarily updated daily. But the reviews come from the heart and from what you usually enjoy reading. I too look forward to the contributions of your other compadres, even though the fantasy area is not my bag at all. I am definitely looking forward to your suspense reviews; that is, after all, my first love in reading these days.

  5. Bev Stephans says:

    I have always enjoyed your reviews. I seem to like the same things you do and that’s what keeps me coming back to your blog. I too, like the mysteries with elements of romance. Whatever genre you review, I will keep reading.

    And yes, the vamps, shapeshifters, etc are getting so tiresome. I just finished the latest Sookie Stackhouse and it may just be the last one I read.

    Welcome to Senetra and Scarlett Moore.

  6. SarahT says:

    I’ve discovered several new-to-me authors through your reviews and not one of them writes romance. Although I always come back to romance eventually, I read a variety of genres. I tend to go through spurts whereby I’ll read several mysteries in a row, or whatever it is I’m in the mood for.

    I’m looking forward to reading Senetra and Scarlett’s reviews, as well as your own.

  7. Scarlett says:

    Thanks for the nice welcome folks!

  8. senetra says:

    Thanks!

  9. Avid Reader says:

    Hey Jessica, Renee, SarahT, Bev, Phyl and Tee: I appreciate the kind words and thank you!

  10. Jennygirl says:

    The title of Avid Book Reader suits you just fine. You’ll read anything that interests you and you don’t want to be pidgeon holed.
    I agree that the trend with vamps, werewolves, and hunters etc is getting to be a bit much.
    I look forward as always to reading everyone’s posts πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

