Winners of the 2009 Edgar Allan Poe Awards

The email was sent out to the Mystery Writers of America members, announcing the winners on April 30. Congratulations to the winners. I am listing only fiction titles, the complete list can be found here. My brief commentary on the winners is at the end of the list.

Best Novel

BLUE HEAVEN by C.J. Box (St. Martin’s Minotaur)

Best First Novel By An American Author

THE FOREIGNER by Francie Lin (Picador)

Best Paperback Original

CHINA LAKE by Meg Gardiner (New American Library -Obsidian Mysteries)

Best Short Story

“Skinhead Central” – The Blue Religion by T. Jefferson Parker (Little, Brown and Company)

Best Juvenile

THE POSTCARD by Tony Abbott (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)

Best Young Adult

PAPER TOWNS by John Green (Penguin Young Readers Group-Dutton Children’s Book)

Meg Gardiner, the author Stephen King raved about in EW, nomination in the 2009 mystery award puzzles me since CHINA LAKE is a reprint. But as someone else mentioned in the comments of this thread, if it’s new to the US, then it doesn’t matter where it was first published. According to the Wiki article, Gardiner currently resides in the UK and used to be a mime. Interesting. She has two sets of series going: The Eve Delaney series (China Lake) and Joe Beckett series (The Dirty Secrets Club) and I own both and they are both availalbe in ebook as well.

Glad to see that PAPER TOWNS by John Green won and not because I’ve read it. Everytime I visit the bookstore (which has become less often these days), the novel just beckons to me – read me, read me, read me. BLUE HEAVEN by C.J. Box currently sits in my shopping cart at Fictionwise, awaiting a ebook price decrease and another available format outside of MOBI.

Here is a complete list of all nominees at Amazon.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winners of the 2009 Edgar Allan Poe Awards

  1. Wendy says:

    I would have loved to have seen Money Shot by Christa Faust win in the best paperback original category. Loved, loved, loved that book!

    I listened to Gardiner’s Dirty Secrets Club on audio and….wasn’t very impressed. I’d chalk it up to the less than stellar narration, but my sister actually read it and….wasn’t very impressed. To be fair though, I have not read any of the Eve Delaney books and those were the ones that King raved about in EW.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Christa Faust – will look her up, thanks Wendy!

Leave a Reply

