Favorite Time & Place to Read?

wine and booksNo matter how hard I try to change up my reading routine, it more or less stays the same. So here it is to share with the Internet: I can only read in bed and at night. At least, that’s when I do most of my reading. It’s been that way for years.

Rarely if ever do I read on the couch or at the kitchen table, sitting outside, soaking in the tub or with other people milling about. Nope. I must have two, no three things while reading: a good book, good lightning and complete silence. Having the door locked isn’t required but it’s nice. A bottle of wine, maybe?

I’ve tried reading during the day on my off days from work. It just doesn’t happen. The only time I get any reading done is late in the evening. It’s been my routine for 18 years and counting. This routine didn’t really start until I went to college. After each and every vigorous study session, often I’d reward myself with some late night reading and it has stuck ever since. I don’t know. Reading at night provides for not only silence but the mood and the ambiance is also nice. To read at work, not happening either. No time.

I wish I could read anywhere or everywhere at anytime but I must acknowledge my limitations. I’ve simply come to accept the fact that I just prefer to read late at night. Slowly but surely, I’m reading bit by bit during the day but am I the only one who prefers late night reading? Surly not?

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Favorite Time & Place to Read?

  1. G says:

    Actually, I can read anytime and anyplace. I have, in the past I assure you, read while commuting (in a car, driving) to NYC. (Hey, I was young, traffic moved 3 mph…). I read whenever I can and never have enough time. There is always at least 1 book in my bag and a magazine or two. I’m so sorry to rea of your infirmity;)

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Reading in the car makes me car sick! I envy you the ability to do so. I am just set in my ways. Today I will try to sit outside and read since the sun is out and all. Thanks G.

  3. Tee says:

    I usually only had the time to read after returning home from work. Then it had to be following dinner (either out or in) and after the daily tasks taken care of. I can’t get comfortable in bed reading; too constricting for me and my legs. I like the couch, even though I’m somewhat in the same position, but there’s more freedom to move about easily. I like quiet too. Shut the radio and TV off, please. Otherwise, if that can’t be done because of other family members visiting, I’ll retreat to my own room/den where the computer and a Lazy-Boy recliner reside. That’s second best.

    Now that I no longer work outside of the home, I still have a difficult time reading during the afternoon, but I can do it if I’ve got an exciting book in my hands. I still feel the need to get jobs done before I reward myself with leisure stuff (so old-fashioned). I find myself still reading towards the evening.

    One thing I’ve learned thru the years, Keishon, is that we can and do make our own rules in so many things that concern only us and don’t really affect other people. We set up the parameters of those rules and so we also can break or stop them whenever we choose. But they become so powerful in guiding our lives that we forget we made the rule in the first place. For instance, wash clothes on Monday, clean house on Saturday, etc, etc. How difficult it is sometimes to deviate from those routines when we’ve done them all our lives. But maybe washing on Wednesdays would work better these days and cleaning house on Thursdays more convenient. We made ’em, we can change ’em.

  4. Mary-Frances says:

    I’m with you. I’m a late night reader. Before I got my Kindle I had stacks of books next to my bed to read at night. I can read at other times of the day but I usually just don’t have time.

  5. Kara says:

    I used to read during the day all the time – now that I have a job (yeah!!!) I read at night – but not in bed. I have to be sitting in my recliner with my cup of cappuccino. Usually I can tune the kids and tv out – but my favorite time to read is after everyone is in bed.

  6. Lisa says:

    I can read anywhere, but I prefer NOT to read in bed. I can never get really comfortable without a ton of pillows to prop up on. Ideally I’d read in the living room or out on the deck. Noise doesn’t bother me unless it’s saying “mommy mommy mommy mommy mommy I neeeeeeeeeed you…”

  7. Kaetrin says:

    I’m with Lisa. Reading in bed is not my favourite. I read a lot on the couch at home and I can do this anytime I’m at home – I usually try to get my jobs done before I settle in as the time does have a way of escaping me when I’m reading (just one more chapter…oh, I’ll just finish this bit… this page, oh crap where did the time go?)! I also read at cafe’s when I’m having lunch on my own (ie during a work break) etc. We are just about to leave on a holiday and I’ll be reading on the cabin’s couch too.

    I can’t read in the car (or a bus) though – yuk – just the thought makes me nauseous! Trains and planes are okay though.

  8. Avid Reader says:

    I just moved into my house and I have no recliner. Maybe I should rectify that soon. All of my life, I’ve always read in bed with the lamp on. Kind of a hard habit to break but I sat outside and read today. Read pretty fast too. I should do this more often. Yes, I haz weird reading quirks.

    Thanks everybody.

  9. jennygirl says:

    Congrats on the house!

    I can read anywhere at anytime. I ususally read on the way back and forth to work (subway trains). And I ALWAYS read before bed. I have done this for as long as I can remember, since I was a kid.

  10. senetra says:

    I prefer to read in bed. I also read at lunchtime at work, and in the bathtub.

    When I try to read outside, I have a hard time concentrating, probably because I’ve never been an “outside” person.

Leave a Reply

