Guest Review: 'Then Comes Seduction' by Mary Balogh

then-comes-seduction-baloghThen Comes Seduction (2009) by Mary Balogh, the second entry in this five part series featuring “the Huxtables.” This guest review was submitted by fellow reader, Senetra.

*****

I read a preview of this book at the end of the previous book in the series, and based on it and the plot description, I was not too sure of it. I didn’t want another “rake seduces innocent miss to prove he is unredeemable and her goodness (and virginity) turns him into the best of all possible husbands.” That’s not necessarily a plot I love because the hero is usually a Fake Rake, Duke of Slut, or some combination of the two.

The reality was much better than I expected. Jasper Finley, Baron Montford, in a bit of drunken pique on his birthday, makes a private wager with some friends. He will seduce and bed a virtuous woman within two weeks. His target is Katherine Huxtable, and the bet is soon on the books.

Over the course of the next few days, Jasper manipulates the situation so that he and Katherine are alone in Vauxhall Gardens, moments away from his winning the wager. Confusing an in-over-her-head Katherine, Jasper halts, and explains the wager, later announcing to his friends that Katherine delivered a blistering set-down and sent him on his way. Jasper then leaves town to spare Katherine the sight of him, while Katherine leaves town to lick her wounds.

Three years later, Katherine has returned to Town and encounters Jasper, who is preparing for his sister Charlotte’s come-out while trying to fend off his step-cousin (and her co-guardian)’s attempt to marry her fortune. While attending various functions, Jasper and Katherine develop a flirtatious sort of relationship, but Jasper is only interested in bedding Katherine, and Katherine wants to marry, preferably to a man she can love. However, an act of revenge soon sees Jasper and Katherine wed and removed to the country, prompting more wagers, revelations, and confrontations.

I liked both Jasper and Katherine. Jasper’s father died before he was born, and his mother remarried a religious zealot of a man who tried to erase all memory of Jasper’s father from his own house. Jasper grew up estranged from his family, thinking of his father as a wastrel and attempting to live down to that reputation, and eschewing all attachments, except to his sisters. He doesn’t think he can love anyone, but the thought of his and Katherine’s children being loved and happy brings him to tears.

Katherine comes from a loving family willing to make sacrifices for one another, and dreams of marrying a man she loves. She still believes in love, but wonders if it will happen to her. However, she is fascinated by, and sexually attracted to, Jasper, and once wed, Katherine is determined to knock down the walls he puts up.

Over the course of the past few weeks, I have read six books by Mary Balogh, and I fought sleep so that I could see how it turned out. I am on pins and needles waiting for Margaret’s story next month: an earl who left his fiancée at the altar to run off with her married sister-in-law AND an illegitimate child? That’s definitely a Balogh plot. Grade: A

Then Comes Seduction by Mary Balogh is available in ebook at your favorite etailer and the first book in the series is First Comes Marriage (2009).

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Grade A Reviews, Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Guest Review: 'Then Comes Seduction' by Mary Balogh

  1. Kaetrin says:

    Sounds great. I have this book in my TBR pile. Now I’m excited! Thanks.

  2. Tee says:

    Me, too. I really enjoyed “First Comes Marriage,” one of her best in a long while. So I’m looking forward to the next books in this series. Thanks for the thorough review.

  3. ag says:

    Gee, I saw this on the shelf at Borders yesterday, but after some really hard thinking, decided to pass it up. So maybe I should check this series out huh?

  4. Avid Reader says:

    I feel like skipping the first book and reading this one – but I won’t. Excellent review.

  5. senetra says:

    Skipping the first book won’t leave you wondering what’s happening in this book.

    One thing I thought about mentioning in the review was that this felt more like Jasper’s book than Katherine’s book. She’s pretty much got her head together while he’s the one trying to figure out his life, but they both left me feeling smiley at the end.

  6. jennygirl says:

    Duke of Slut…love it!
    I’ve heard of Balogh but never read any of her stuff. I’ll have to go check her out.

  7. Caffey says:

    Its my first time visiting here! I’m Caffey (Cathie) and love reading romance, especially historicals! My favorite of Balogh’s is SILENT MELODY. That’s the one with the deaf heroine in it (As I am myself deaf, I really felt along with her so it hit me even more with that book). But love her writing voice! I have the first book in this new series right next to my bed to read soon, and then will get this one I hope soon. The third book tho is HC 😦 I need to read some of her previous books (Slightly books, etc) so these are not related to it right? I don’t like to read out of order.

    Wonderful to read your review and to chat more here on books!

  8. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Caffey (Cathie) and welcome! I’ve enjoyed quite a few Balogh’s books namely, Heartless, Thief of Dreams, Indiscreet, The Temporary Wife and The Secret Pearl. Plan to dive into her new books as well. As far as I know, the Slightly books are not related.

  9. vanessa jaye says:

    I have First Coomes Marriage and been keeping my eyes peeled for this one, too. Really great review! (And now I can’t wait for the next one!)

  10. Tumperkin says:

    Oooh – I’ve not read either of this series yet (and am a big Balogh fan) – and I love the sound of this and even more of the next one!

  11. Avid Reader says:

    Tumperkin: Oooh – I’ve not read either of this series yet (and am a big Balogh fan) – and I love the sound of this and even more of the next one!

    Welcome Tumperkin and we hope you enjoy them. I’m reading the second one first. I’m not a big fan of reading in order 😛

Leave a Reply

