DA BWAHA Tournament Starts Today!

smalllogo2Today is the start of the “Dear Author Bitchery Writing Award for Hellagood Authors or DA BWAHA” and it’s a tournament that mimics the “March Madness tournament of basketball.” I played last year and it was a lot of fun. There are 64 books nominated that were culled from the readership and from the bloggers who are sponsoring the tournament. Read more of the details at Dear Author.

How To Play

Of course no one has read all 64 books (I know I haven’t) but that’s not the point of the tournament. You have to be a good guesser because you must pick the book that will win in a head to head vote by readers. You lose points for wrong guesses (duh) and you gain points for your correct guesses. There are usually several polls going on right behind the other. What you hope to accomplish in participating in this tournament is that your guesses garner you a winning status so that you can take home the ultimate prize: a new, shiny red Sony Reader while the rest of us glare at you in envy.

This year I’ve noticed that there’s a prize for each set of rounds for winning brackets. That is really sa-weet. Last year as you advanced, you didn’t get any kudos for it but it was nice looking at your position as being in the top ten. It’s a coveted spot next to being number one out of hundreds of other contenders.

Strategy and Voting

I’m not revealing my strategy (as if I have one). I know one thing that helped me last year for the first couple of rounds before I fell to the bottom was knowing what books readers are squeeing about on their blogs or on other people’s blogs. Hey, these are the same people who will be voting for or against your pick. Of course you’re allowed to vote for your pick and sometimes you wish you had access to another computers to vote for your pick like x5. Just joking on that last part. I think I hit the refresh button on the last 5 minutes of several polls like a gazillion times until the final results were posted. Some polls can be close and some are breakaway winners.

All of this is to say that if you’re clueless about who will win, well so am I. If you’re worrying that your pick isn’t right or that you don’t want to play because you haven’t read the books then you are not understanding how this game is played. It is about knowing what books you THINK will win. There will be a lot of trash talking. There will be a lot of serious competitors (like me). The end result is the same: this will be a hella fun tournament. So go forth and fill out your bracket today and you have until March 18 to fill it out, too. Advice: choose well and good luck. See you at the polling booth.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DA BWAHA Tournament Starts Today!

  1. Jane says:

    Next year, I’ll need to figure out a way to put up the previous years’ results. I’m thinking Larissa Ione’s book might be a darkhorse. It’s in the top five of the Champions’ Summary: http://dabwaha.com/2009_Tournament/website/championssummary.html

  2. Avid Reader says:

    I was thinking that as well. I’ve heard a lot of buzz about her books.

  3. Mame says:

    I have posted my picks. I am not certain how the whole brackets thing works but I clicked through what I liked best or saw great reviews on. I do love the idea of reading as a sport! Maybe we could get into the olympics. Not much action watching people read….nevermind
    🙂
    Mame

  4. Jill D. says:

    Hee, hee! I am so in. I had a ton of fun last year playing and I have been looking forward to playing this year. I am totally excited because several of the books listed are ones I emailed Jane and Sarah with suggestions. I tweaked my strategy this year so I hope I do better than last year (rubbing hands and waggling eyebrows).

  5. Avid Reader says:

    Jill D.: I tweaked my strategy this year so I hope I do better than last year (rubbing hands and waggling eyebrows).

    If you should win, I will have to ask you what your strategy is. Mine was simply to-

Leave a Reply

