Second Novel for Audrey Niffenegger Nets A Hefty Advance

Audrey Niffengger’s first book, THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE, was a million-dollar bestseller so does it really come as a surprise that for her second novel, HER FEARFUL SYMMETRY, nets her a $4M dealbooks and pages from Scribner? Uh, yes. This is a recession after all and that’s a lot of money. But then, hardcovers have been selling well overall haven’t they? I read THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE when it first came out and thought her voice/style of writing was good for a debut novel amidst others who found her writing effort amateurish to be kind. It was also a one time read for me, too. The end, though bittersweet, was haunting and disappointing for me.

Anyway, I plan to read her second novel if my library gets a copy or if the book comes out in a digital format that is within a decent price range. I would love to net an ARC but I’m sure most people would be well ahead of me for a chance at a copy before the September publication. Well, what is the story about you ask? From the article it is described as “the story of twin American girls who live near a cemetery in London.” Does that rock your boat or what? It seems that many publishers placed bids on her manuscript.

via AP

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Second Novel for Audrey Niffenegger Nets A Hefty Advance

  1. Joel says:

    Interesting news. Wow, what a haul!

    I really enjoyed The Time Traveler’s Wife. Unlike you, I didn’t find the ending to be disappointing…. I found it sad, but whenever you follow two characters through their entire lives, they inevitably die, and that doesn’t make for a happy ending.

    This sort of repeats my original book review, but I finished it the day before visiting Alcatraz during a trip to San Francisco. It put me into a slight funk, and although that’s not the most pleasant feeling, it really made me think about some of the themes of the book while visiting the old island prison. My mood made the experience a little surreal, and a little more resonant than it maybe otherwise would have been.

    I sometimes use the affect a book has on me to judge it. It’s one of the things that made me like this book.

  2. Kailana says:

    I am looking forward to her new book. It’s been a while since her previous book! The first book was so popular and famous, though, it is going to be hard to beat it!

  3. Avid Reader says:

    Well, I have to be in the right mood for these types of books and I only read them once a year, too. The ending of this book is hopeful, bittersweet but I remember my heart pounding when the critical chapter was reached and I hated it. I don’t know, it just hit me wrong when I read it. Overall, it is an excellent story and I guess Henry would live on (a younger Henry) I think that was his name (g) and on and on if you think about it that way. Thanks guys.

Leave a Reply

