Next TBR Challenge: Wed, March 18

Where does the time go? It seems as if it was just yesterday that I finished reading Your Scandalous Ways. Anyway, this is a reminder to those who are still in the game – next Wednesday, March 18 is our next challenge day. The theme for this month is to read a historical mystery, romance or fiction title of your choice. If you don’t care for historicals, just pick a book, read it and review it on March 18.

Kindle App on iPhone/iTouch

books-024Meanwhile, I am reading a mystery bought from the Kindle store. In Amazon’s quest for ebook domination, they have opened up their format to the iPhone/iTouch crowd. I get to enjoy those nice hardcover prices without actually handling this aesthetically challenging device. At night is when I do the majority of my reading so, while Stanza is my preferred app of choice for my iPhone, I can use the Kindle app to read ebooks that otherwise have remained elusive or missing from other etailers.

As you can see from the pic, there aren’t very many choices to manipulate this ebook. I can increase/decrease the font, create bookmarks on the fly while it keeps my place in the book but that’s essentially it. Someone mentioned taking notes – how? Purchasing the Kindle ebook is outside this app’s capability, too. I must purchase it on my desktop or on my iPhone and then it is sent to my iPhone once the app is opened. What I really dislike is the lack of covers on the home page. What gives Amazon? Anyway, Stanza is still my number one choice for my late night reading. I guess I shouldn’t complain, after all it is a FREE app that could stand a few more updates.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Next TBR Challenge: Wed, March 18

  1. Nikki says:

    I agree, my app of choice for my ipod touch is Stanza but I really am starting to like the prices on amazon’s kindle site. For example, I was shopping last night and I see that Suzanne Brockmann’s SSE seals series is on ebooks now and I want to buy them. On Kindle the 3rd part of the series which are three books is $9.99 and on fictionwise it’s $16.75 and on books on board it’s $15.91. While I like the GUI on stanza better, money is money after all. With the $5.00 savings I can buy another book! I see myself using kindles app a lot more! BTW, I love, love, love, love reading books on my ipod touch!!!!!!

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Prices at Amazon is a BIG draw. I have to admit it’s a nice touch. Doubt that I’d shop there first over Fictionwise or Sony but at this point, I go where the ebooks are cheapest and available (within reason).

  3. Janine says:

    I just finished my review for the March TBR challenge late last night, or more accuately, early this morning. I am really enjoying the challenge so far, so thank you for starting it.

  4. sally906 says:

    Wow – that month has gone quick!!! I have my book picked – may not get it read by the 18th – but will be at least reading it ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am going to read Silent in the Sanctuary by Deanna Raybourn

  5. ag says:

    Hi, Keishon,

    I’ve finished my historical fiction – http://inmybooks.com/blog1/2009/03/15/march-tbr-the-last-empress/ — the traditional way. Bought a paper copy.

    I guess it has something to do with my work. After trawling websites and monitoring online sales and marketing activity for work, I just want to curl up in the sofa with something solid, like a paperback, to escape from the digital world. So, for now, I’m resisting the Kindle and Stanza of this world.

  6. Jenn says:

    By the skin of my teeth I made it. I’ll have to check the other reviews tomorrow.

    http://logansliterarylibations.blogspot.com/2009/03/tbr-challenge-march-2009.html

  7. Bookwormom says:

    I made it- just barely! After missing last month (already!), I made sure to squeak in this time. LOL ๐Ÿ™‚ Mistress of the Art of Death; Ariana Franklin.

  8. Lori says:

    I actually did my review yesterday and then forgot to link to it here.

    http://endlesstbrlist.blogspot.com/2009/03/2009-tbr-challenge-for-march.html

Leave a Reply

