Vampires

Thought you all could use a good vampire story sans Jean-Claude, Lestat or whoever else is the hottest bloodsucker of the moment. According to this online TIME magazine article, the town of Nicaragua seems to be plagued by vampire bats. One couple woke up in the middle of the night, mysteriously covered in blood.

bats2

After examining the two, Flores discovered both had been bitten on their toes; the clean incisions and the profuse bleeding were telltale signs of a vampire bat attack. The vampire’s bite is quick and razor sharp, so the sleeping victim doesn’t feel the incision; and the animal’s saliva contains a strong anticoagulating agent that leaves the victim bleeding for hours after the bite.

That doesn’t sound too sexy, does it? This sounds quite horrifying, actually. Excuse me while I cringe for just a moment. According to the vampire bat experts, vampire bats are a rare breed and are only found in ” Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.” I’ve never cared for bats and this is as good as reason as any.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vampires

  1. Rosie says:

    Crikeys! I literally gagged reading this.

  2. Lori says:

    Actually, the non-vampire bats are really cool if you can get past the creep factor. If nothing else every evening they eat their weight in annoying bugs like mosquitoes. There’s a huge colony of them that live under the bridge in Austin, Texas and watching them fly out in the evening is really impressive.

  3. Avid Reader says:

    Yeah, I’ve read that bat’s have their usefullness. . . they still give me the creeps though *cringe*

  4. jennygirl says:

    this is way too creepy!

  5. Joel says:

    I LOL’ed your line, “That doesn’t sound too sexy, does it?” It’s funny how vampires have been so romanticized in recent years. Not to say that I didn’t enjoy reading about Louis, Lestat, and the gang (some of the time).

  6. Joel says:

    Keishon, yeah, I’m still blogging. Most of my creative effort nowadays goes to my new fiction blog, Iron & Ash. It’s a fantasy story in blog format, with daily postings. I’m trying to make it a little more serious than your average fantasy story in some ways, a little more interpersonal. My few readers seem to be responding well to the romantic elements of the story, which is nice. It’s something new and challenging for me, and very exciting. I’d like you to check it out at some point, even if it turns out not to be your kind of thing. 🙂

    Unfortunately, Books Under the Bridge hasn’t received the kind of care it needs lately. I’m hoping to keep it going with a few posts a month. We’ll see how that goes. Right now it’s averaging a little less than one post a month.

  7. Avid Reader says:

    Hey Joel, I will check it out. I remember reading the first part of ‘Iron and Ash’ when you first posted the link at your other blog but I’ve been remiss in going back to read more. Thanks for the link. I will go read it.

Leave a Reply

