New Liam Campbell Novel Coming 2010

liam_campbell_largeI went searching for my prized set of hardcovers by Dana Stabenow, yesterday, featuring Alaska state Trooper, Liam Campbell: Fire and Ice, So Sure of Death, Nothing Gold Can Stay and Better to Rest. The wait is now over- BONE OUT OF THE GRAVE is scheduled to be published in 2010. Liam Campbell fans can rejoice now after a seven year hiatus.

Like I mentioned above, Liam Campbell is an Alaskan State Trooper who was transferred from Anchorage to Neweham, Alaska. Things were not going well for Liam. A drunk driver killed his family and career wise, he was transferred due to some questionable events that happened when he was in charge. In Neweham, you have to fly to get around and Liam hates to fly. He also bumps into an old flame, bush pilot, Wyanet Chouinard. The two, after they dance around each other, fall back in love again. The chemistry between them is smoking hot and the author didn’t always close the bedroom door, either. But this is a mystery series first with a strong romantic subplot.

I love Stabenow’s writing, love the setting and since she was born and raised in Alaska, it’s safe to say she knows the setting well. The romance in this series is really strong and nice even though the couple in here began their relationship while Liam was married but Wy broke it off. Also, if you enjoy Julia Spencer-Fleming’s books, I don’t see why you wouldn’t enjoy these as well. As soon as I learn more about the blurb and an exact street date, I’ll post it here. Welcome back, Liam Campbell! You’ve been sorely missed. Never caught onto Kate Shugak (heard bad stuff about it) but, who knows, maybe.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Liam Campbell Novel Coming 2010

  1. Li says:

    I was looking up Dana Stabenow’s work after really enjoying a short story in an anthology, and was trying to decide between this series or the Kate Shugak one.

    Now I know which to go for, thanks 🙂

  2. BookBoor says:

    You’ve piqued my interest and just in time too. I felt a reading slump coming on. Thanks.

  3. Avid Reader says:

    Hey – I hope you both enjoy the Liam Campbell books as much as I did when I first read them. Liam was just so hot to me. I was good and mad to learn that the author had to renegoitate her contract with the publisher for this series while the Kate Shugak series was still and is still going strong. I must reread these books in preparation. Also, the books are full of off-beat humor as well. There’s a lot to like in this series. Enjoy.

  4. vanessa jaye says:

    I remember (I think) you recommending these books on your old Yahoo loop. They’re still in my TBR pile. ::shamed:: lol. At least they made the move from the apt to the house. I’ll have to dig them out.

  5. Avid Reader says:

    vanessa jaye: I remember (I think) you recommending these books on your old Yahoo loop. They’re still in my pile. ::shamed:: lol. At least they made the move from the apt to the house. I’ll have to dig them out.

    Would love to know how you enjoyed these books when you have time to read them. I think you’ll like them. Ignore all those negative reviews on Amazon, I think some readers were upset at how much romance is in them (last I checked) and plus, I love her humor and her voice.

  6. Bev Stephans says:

    Please try the Kate Shugak series. I think you’ll find they are just as good as the Liam Campbell series.

    That is good news that there will be another Campbell book. I have always loved the series and can’t wait to dive back into Liam’s world.

  7. Avid Reader says:

    Thanks Bev, I will do that! I have the first six to get me started, too. Had heard a nasty rumor that she kills off a major character but after reading Slaughter, I’m prepared for anything.

Leave a Reply

