John Grisham Found His Writing Mojo?

n284879Best-selling author, John Grisham has a new book out, The Associate and it’s set in New York. Supposedly, it’s the lawyer capital of the world (as with everything else). It sounds like a page-turner, too.

The problem is that I’ve not read another Grisham book since reading The Firm. Legal thrillers are just so not my thing. His publisher, Doubleday, has ordered “2.8 million copies” of the book, so does that mean that Grisham has found his writing mojo? Well, maybe not. According to the AP article, the movie rights have already been sold and an actor already cast.

While reading, I was struck by this sentence:

The publishing world needs superstars like Grisham, J.K. Rowling and Stephenie Myer to write popular fiction that sells books, says Grisham’s longtime agent, David Gernert.

Stephenie Meyer? Really? I honestly think it is more luck than talent that has recently made her a bestseller. I loved Twilight when I first read it and usually a first effort by a new author is the weakest but in Meyer’s case, it’s the reverse. I’ve read Rowling and yes, she can write but Meyer? I’ve always been somewhat astounded at the comparison to Rowling but then I thought, oh, it’s a comparison on how well she can reach and speak to her market and not so much about how well she can write.

Edited for error refer to comments.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to John Grisham Found His Writing Mojo?

  1. bookzilla says:

    I just finished reading The Appeal by Grisham, and it was blah. If The Associate is anything like it, forget it. Grisham has gotten too comfortable with all his millions… he’s lost his muse. On the upside though, I just read one of the best short stories I ‘ve ever read @ Buzzle.com, in the Escape Hatch fiction section. Title: The Garbage Man. Two or three editing errors, but other than that, the story knocked me out. Somebody said it had 1300 hits in a little over a month… oh well too-da-loo!

    Bookzilla —

  2. Mame says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more about John Grisham. I got as far as the book after “The Client” which I think was the “Rainmaker”. It was as if once he got a book to become a movie all his books felt like screen plays. All glitz and no substance.
    I love Harry Potter and I think Ms. Rowling respected her audience with tight, intelligent writing and no talking down to anyone. Stephanie Meyer is very lucky. I read “Twilight” years ago in paperback and while I thought it was a fun read it was definitely written for a YA audience that spends more time with the XBOX than they do with a book. Someone with money and connections got the movie rights and the series exploded. But then again, anything that gets a kid to read I am all for.
    (fyi: I randomly tagged you for a meme on my blog, http://www.besottedbookworm.com. Top 10 TV Couples. Maybe you will come check it out)
    Thanks!
    🙂
    Mame

  3. vanessa jaye says:

    “Stephenie Meyer? Really? I honestly think it is more luck than talent that has recently made her a bestseller. I loved Twilight when I first read it and usually a first effort by a new author is the weakest but in Meyer’s case, it’s the reverse. I’ve read Rowling and yes, she can write but Meyer? I’ve always been somewhat astounded at the comparison to Rowling but then I thought, oh, it’s a comparison on how well she can reach and speak to her market and not so much about how well she can write.”

    Hey, Stephen King, I’m on to you! Now tell me how you took over Keishon’s blog and what have you done to her?!

    ::snort::

    Haven’t read Twilight and have no interest in doing so. I’ve seen a couple of the HP movies and enjoyed them, but haven’t read the books. ::shrug:: Haven’t read Grisham in years, but did enjoy the books I did read, and enjoyed the movies based on his books to one degree or another.

  4. Avid Reader says:

    vanessa jaye: Hey, Stephen King, I’m on to you! Now tell me how you took over Keishon’s blog and what have you done to her?!

    LOL. It was only after writing that did I reflect that that might sound a little like SK’s rhetoric but…it’s true! Grisham, shisham, like another reader stated, he’s gotten comfortable and is a popular fiction writer (is that a dirty word?).

  5. Janine says:

    According to the AP article, the movie rights have already been sold and an actress already cast.

    Hey Keishon, Shia LaBeouf is actually a guy. He was in the most recent Indiana Jones movie, where he played Indy’s son, but I can’t blame you for forgetting him — his performance was totally forgettable.

    As for Grisham, I only read one, The Pelican Brief. It kept me up late turning the pages but after I finished I could hardly remember the characters. On the other hand, I really enjoyed the John Cusack, Gene Hackman movie that was made out of his book, The Runaway Jury. I liked it so much that I’ve been wanting to check out some of the other movies that are based on his books.

  6. Avid Reader says:

    Janine: As for Grisham, I only read one, The Pelican Brief. It kept me up late turning the pages but after I finished I could hardly remember the characters. On the other hand, I really enjoyed the John Cusack, Gene Hackman movie that was made out of his book, The Runaway Jury. I liked it so much that I’ve been wanting to check out some of the other movies that are based on his books.

    Thanks for the correction Janine, I made the changes. You’re right, I don’t remember him at all. I’ve heard great things about THE RUNAWAY JURY. Must look into that and thanks!

  7. Janine says:

    You’re welcome! Just to clarify, my rec for “The Runaway Jury” is for the movie, not the book. I haven’t read the book.

Leave a Reply

