Win a Copy of Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs

image001Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs, the fourth book in the Mercy Thompson series comes out today! Of course, this is Ms. Briggs hardcover debut.

Skip to the contest details below if you’re already familiar with the series. If you haven’t started this series yet and are curious, the stories follow Mercy Thompson, a VW mechanic living in the Tri-Cities. In her world, werewolves, faeries and vampires do exist. The first three books in the series are: Moon Called (2006), Blood Bound (2007) and Iron Kissed (2008).

Mercy is a “walker” who can change into coyote at will. She grew up in a werewolf pack led by Bran, the Marrok of all the werewolves in the US, but she left to strike out on her own. There are two men in her life and they happen to be werewolves: Adam Hauptman, the Alpha of the Columbia Basin Pack and Samuel Cornick, a doctor, lone wolf and ex-flame.

Thus far, Mercy has made new friends and acquired some enemies. Even though Mercy is at the bottom of the totem pole in terms of supernatural power, she does have powerful friends. As for the monsters in this series, they are interesting and are very scary. The author does a really good job of creating a realistic world where monsters do exist. Bone Crossed is no exception and look for a review later this week. I’d venture to say that this entry is darker (scarier) than the last book and can raise the goosebumps so don’t read this book late at night.

The series is written well, uses the first person pov and is thus far, consistently strong series. The Mercy Thompson books are one of the best urban fantasy series out there right now. As for the romance, there is one, finally after the resolution to one thread that began with a triangle of sorts. Nice chemistry, too.

I like that the author has created a socially dynamic world where there are power struggles, politics, bigotry and other elements that mimic our society and solidifies one’s belief that this world exists in some parallel universe similar to our own. So without further ado…

Bone Crossed Contest Details

To win a copy of Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs (2009), tell me what you like about the Mercy Thompson series thus far? Which title is your favorite and why? Any recommendations for Briggs fans who may like someone else who writes similarly?

In my hands, I have the completed novel from the publisher (my copy) and it has been gently read so if you want to win a copy of this wonderful book, please enter a comment below. Contest closes Thursday 11:59PM CST and winner will be randomly picked. US residents only please due to shipping costs. Good Luck!

Edited to Add: Winner will announced on Tuesday, Feb 10, when the review of Bone Crossed is posted. Thank you all for entering the contest and I do apologize to my international readers. I will make it up to you.
Edited to Add: Look for review Wednesday along with the winner. Sorry, real life, etc.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Win a Copy of Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs

  1. Ann-Kat says:

    *SQUEAL* (I rarely squeal like a little girl, but this contest warrants it!!)

    I am only a recent Briggs fan, so the last question may be a tricky one to answer. However, when I first came across the Mercy Thompson series, I purchased Moon Called intentionally and Blood Bound on pure blind faith, since I wasn’t even sure I was going to like the author.

    Sure enough, I did and jumped right into the second book and immediately went and ordered Iron Kissed. (Didn’t think I was going to like that one because I wasn’t too fond of the fae/Zee thread, but surprisingly, I really enjoyed it–though it had a disturbing edge to it.)

    Sorry for the deviation, back to the contest…

    What do I like about the Mercy Thompson series so far? Mercy herself. I was expecting either a super-woman or a woman who could barely walk or protect herself. Mercy is a nice blending of both–she can seriously kick some butt when necessary, but knows her own limitations. And best of all, she has common sense. The world-building is excellent and highly believable. Oh, and who can’t love a vampire who rides around in the Mystery van? Plus Briggs has a clean writing style that’s rather refreshing; fast-paced and tart when it needs to be.

    Which title is my favorite and why? I really did enjoy all of them, but if I had to pick just one, I’d have to go with Blood Bound. It had a slightly more intricate story, and we get to see Adam’s affections toward Mercy come out more. Normally I don’t do love triangles all that well, but Briggs made it work and I was definitely on Team Adam. πŸ™‚

    Any recommendations? As I said earlier, I’m a new Briggs fan, so take my recommendation with a healthy helping of salt. πŸ˜€ That said, I’d definitely recommend Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews.

  2. Jill D. says:

    I love this series. I had discovered Briggs last year via your recommendation actually. So thank you for that. I like Mercy because she is so down to earth. She is very easy-going and an all around “good” person without being too “goody-goody”. I would have to say that so far Iron Kissed was my favorite. What happens to Mercy at the end is just heart breaking. Briggs is such a good author I felt completely immersed in the story, like I had to pick myself back up just like Mercy. I would recommend Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Underworld series.

  3. Gina says:

    I was just lamenting to a fellow book lover that I was #354 on the paperbackswap.com wishlist for this book. I would LOVE to win this copy.

    What I like about Mercy so far? Briggs’ writing style is refreshing. There aren’t huge holes in her plots. I love the clean way she writes. Mercy is a great character. She is paranormal and real all at once.

    Which is my favorite and why? Hard question. I have to say that the first book, Moon Called, holds a special place in my heart because it was (IMO) one of the best first book of any series that I read. Briggs knew her characters and it was very well written. I find that in many series you have a few warm up books before you get to this type of quality. (If I had to chose for story alone, I would choose Iron Kissed. I loved the scenes at the end with Mercy, Adam, and Ben. Mercy is true to herself. I love that.)
    Any recommendations? Hmmm. I would recommend the Southern Vampire series by Charlaine Harris and the In Death series by J.D. Robb. Though most people are already reading these series.

  4. Janicu says:

    You know, I couldn’t remember if I liked Moon Called more or Blood Bound so I went to look up my notes! Blood Bound won by like half a point. According to my notes, I pretty much stayed up all night to read the book (after pre-ordering it too). I WOULD have pre-ordered Bone Crossed, but the HC thing.. I know, it’s really great for the author, but I like paperbacks. So I’ve been thinking it over. Because I really want to read it, I half expect to just buy it anyway, once I see it at the bookstore and just can’t help myself, haha. Anyway, Blood Bound is my favorite probably because I thought the ending of Moon Called was a tad bit complicated and a not-believable. Blood Bound just felt really well plotted.

    Books I’d recommend. Well someone has already recommended Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series, which I think is the best rec for Briggs fans. And if you like smart heroines, I’d recommend C.E. Murphy’s books, though those seem more “real” with a tint of supernatural than the whole world being supernatural if that makes sense.

  5. Karen W. says:

    I love the Mercy Thompson series, and I enjoyed all the books, but I would have to say IRON KISSED was probably my favorite so far.

    I would recommend Kim Harrison’s “Hollows” series & Carrie Vaughn’s “Kitty” series. (I could go on forever.)

    Thanks for the contest! I’m DYING to read BONE CROSSED but can’t buy a hardcover right now.

  6. Kailana says:

    Congrats to whoever is lucky enough to win! I ordered my copy today. I was going to pre-order it but I had a gift card and they have this thing at the bookstore here where you don’t get free shipping no matter how many books you pre-order! I would have just bought it at the bookstore, but they probably didn’t have it and it would have cost a lot more… Such is life, I guess!

    It’s a great series, though!

  7. Sweet says:

    Even though Iron Kissed was the hardest of the series for me to read, because of what happened to Mercy. I think it’s my favorite, because she finally admits how she really feels about Adam and Sam and in turn we finally get to see how they really feel about her.
    One of the reasons I like this series so much is that Mercy knows her limitations. She’s not this all powerful kick ass chick, that seems to be so prevalent in much of the UF that’s out there right now.
    As for rec’s, I’d have to recommend Ilona Andrews as many posters above have said. The Kate Daniels series has got to be my favorite UF series right now. I simply love it. Her story telling reminds me a lot of Briggs. I’d also say that Anne Aguirre’s Sirantha Jax Series also has a very Briggs’ like tone.

  8. Lisa says:

    Iron Kissed is my favorite. I think the series started off great and has just improved with each entry. Like Gina, the scene at the end with Ben and Adam took my breath away. Right now this is my favorite paranormal series, hands down.

    I don’t have any recs that aren’t already mentioned, but I am carrying around a Carrie Vaughn in my bag right now, so I’ll throw that out there.

  9. Li says:

    Err… non-US resident here so not entering the contest, but I wanted to add my two pence worth on recs.

    I love Eileen Wilks’ World of the Lupi series, also werewolves, but very different from Patricia Briggs’ world. And also Karen Chance’s Cassie Palmer books, where the heroine is a clairvoyant. The first book is probably too fast-paced, but they get so much better, IMO.

    Most of the authors mentioned so far are already on my buy list, though CE Murphy is a new one – will keep an eye out for her books! Am looking forward to more recs too πŸ™‚

  10. Maggie says:

    Coming out of lurk to enter this wonderful contest!

    What you like about the Mercy Thompson series thus far?

    I like Mercy and most of the other characters she hangs around. Mostly, I like the fact that Mercy knows her strengths and knows her limits. She knows just how far to push to make herself someone worthy of respect from the werewolves and just how much to give to make sure they understand she isn’t out to threaten them or cause the pack any trouble. I like a heroine with a good head on her shoulders.

    Which title is your favorite and why?

    My favorite is Blood Bound, and that decision is made kind of by process of elimination (which is not to say that I didn’t love the other two). Moon Called was a little thin on the plot and thick on exposition, but I didn’t mind too much because it’s the first in a series and some groundwork has to be laid in order for the series as a whole to succeed. And Patricia Briggs doesn’t make it boring at all. While I liked the prose, Iron Kissed was a struggle for me to finish, just because it didn’t get interesting (to me) until she worked out who was responsible, and that was the last third of the book. I just wasn’t interested in fae artifacts or fae politics and that’s obviously an issue of mine, and not Briggs’s failure or anything. Blood Bound is what I would call perfect in every imaginable way. It was the perfect balance of action and plot, just the right amount of gore (not too much!) the seethe is interesting as hell. I also liked the fact that it was more of Stephan’s story. Stephan is my favorite character in the series just because he’s always up to something mysterious and you can never be too sure of his motives. Another reason Iron Kissed was harder for me to get through was because Stephan wasn’t present anywhere in the story, and it was very noticeable to me because I was constantly looking for him.

    Any recommendations for Briggs fans who may like someone else who writes similarly?

    I have to confess that I don’t read that many urban fantasy titles. I read a lot of gay fiction though so I can recommend some stuff in that department! πŸ˜€

    OK, I think everyone should try the PsyCop series by Jordan Castillo Price. It has plenty of characters of dubious motives. hehehe The original covers were horrible, but they’ve been re-issued in better covers. Yeah well, enough of my cover shallowness. The storyline is great! It’s in the mystery genre, probably horror too, but it’s not too gory. It’s horror because there are lots of ghosts to deal with and themes of death.

    A psycop unit is a detective unit with one partner who has psychic talents and one partner who is normal (no psychic talents). The balance is to ensure that if the psychic half of the team is affected by some paranormal attack or whatnot, the non-psychic (NP) will be immune–theoretically.

    It’s told in first-person (like the Mercy series!) and it’s a wonderful example of first-person narrative. Vic, the narrator, is the psychic half of his unit and he has the ability to interact with ghosts. He’s the highest level psychic around but he doesn’t like his ability. To tamp down on that (when he’s not at work) he takes these pills called Auracel which are anti-psyactives and block his ability, kinda. Vic spends most of the first book, a lot of the second book, and most of the fifth book high as a kite but there’s something really attractive about the way he tells a story.

    People should try it out!

  11. Margaret says:

    What do I like about the Mercy Thompson series so far?

    Mercy, and the characters around her. She’s kind, smart, and has a dark sense of humor. Of course, you’d really need that, with the life she leads. *cough*

    Which title is my favorite and why?

    I love the first one, Moon Called just because it introduces us to Mercy, and Adam, and Stefan, and all the rest. It paints the world well, and I enjoy the stories there, too.

    Any recommendations?

    Charlaine Harris is good, for strong, funny heroines. As is JR Ward.

  12. Pingback: Pages tagged "iron kissed"

Comments are closed.