Coming Soon…

corambis-by-monette

Forget the cover, it’s what’s inside that counts. I am a unabashed fan of this author and I cannot wait to read this book. Corambis is the fourth book in The Doctorine of Labyrinths series and it comes after Melusine, The Virtu and The Mirador. The books must be read in order for you to follow what is going on.

If you enjoy high fantasy novels that are very dark then this author should not be missed. The story is told through dual narratives of a wizard, Felix Harrowgate and his half-brother Mildmay, an ex-cat burglar and has elements that include but are not limited to the following: mxm romance, mxf romance, dark magic, evil spells, blood witches, haunted labyrinths and theology. Worldbuilding is top-notch as well. Here is the back blurb for book four:

Exiled from Mélusine for the crime of heresy, the once powerful Cabaline wizard Felix Harrowgate and his half-brother Mildmay, former cat-burglar and assassin, journey to Corambis to face judgment from a ruling body of wizards. Corambis, however, is a land plagued by civil strife. Kay Brightmore, the Margrave of Rothmarlin, is part of an insurrection to restore the monarchy in the southern half of the country. In desperation, Kay and his rebels seek out the engine of Summerdown, an ancient magical device rumored to have terrible powers. Once the engine is awakened, only a powerful wizard can stop its awesome potential for destruction. Felix and Mildmay arrive just in time for their greatest challenge—and ultimate destiny…

Coming to a bookstore near you on April 7, 2009…Meanwhile, if you would like to catch-up, all three books are available electronically at Amazon and Fictionwise.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coming Soon…

  1. Renee says:

    I LOVE this series! It was one of my favorite series I read last year. I so dig Mildmay, and Felix just breaks my heart (when I’m not wanting to smack him!)

    Today, Sarah Monette posted on her blog an mp3 of her reading the first chapter of Corambis. I haven’t yet listened to it, but I’m really excited about it!

    And, yeah, I’m totally not loving this cover. 😛

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Renee: I LOVE this series! It was one of my favorite series I read last year. I so dig Mildmay, and Felix just breaks my heart (when I’m not wanting to smack him!)

    Mildmay stole the show for me in Melusine and I adore him. He is the main reason for my reading this series alongside Ms. Monette’s awesome writing style and her creative imagination. Love her work. Love. It. She is one of the best fantasy writers out there today.

    Thanks for the mp3 link!

  3. nath says:

    I got the first two books for 5$ each in hardcover format!! Now, I just need to get to reading them LOL 🙂

  4. Taja says:

    I’ve seen this series mentioned a few times now. I thought it looked interesting but never bothered to investigate closer. Now I read “If you enjoy high fantasy novels that are very dark” – and yeah, I investigated! 😉

    Thanks! 🙂

  5. bookwormom says:

    I really like Sarah Monette’s short story in The Winter Queen anthology. Absolutely fabulous. I’ve Melusine in my TBR, I’m glad to know they have to be read in order & that they’re fabulous. 🙂

    ~Amanda

  6. vanessa jaye says:

    I know I read the first one and loved it. I *think* the second one is in the tbr pile. I just might buy these next 2 in ebook format.

Leave a Reply

