Iowans Don't Play When It Comes to Their Library Books

12754_hand_cuffs1This is interesting and stretches the bounds of incredulity. A woman in Iowa was arrested for failing to return a library book that is valued at $13.95. Library employees stated that they tried to contact the woman but to no avail. Is this..for real? Did this actually happen? The woman was released on a $250 bond.

Yes, this would be categorized under you’ve got to be kidding me.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Iowans Don't Play When It Comes to Their Library Books

  1. Nicole says:

    Yes, this is for real. Was in today’s paper (I’m in Iowa).

    • Avid Reader says:

      There has to be more to this story, right? I can’t believe someone would be arrested for not returning a library book. The fines at the library here is capped at a certain amount and after that you’re just blocked and notices get sent out and even in some cases the fines are sent to a collection agency but getting arrested and fined is a bit extreme to me.

  2. Nicole says:

    That’s pretty much the story. She ignored notices and even once the cops came to her house with a notice and she still ignored it. According to the article, it was treated as a stolen item.

    • Avid Reader says:

      I’m flabbergasted that the cops even visited her house! My response to this story might be in the minority but I mentioned this story to some of my colleagues and the consensus is that this is…extreme.

  3. Nicole says:

    I think libraries that have a problem with stuff like this (people refusing to return books) have been working on cracking down. I mean, it IS stealing. And they did send her plenty of notices before they arrested her. So I guess while I see it as a bit extreme, I can see where the library was coming from.

    I bet they got lots of overdue books returned.

  4. Avid Reader says:

    Nicole: I bet they got lots of overdue books returned.

    I believe they did, too. Thanks Nic. Is that you’re nickname, Nic? I like nicknaming people, lol. Thanks Nicole.

Leave a Reply

