Audiobooks: The Best Voices of 2008

I promise, I am not trying to find all of “the end of the year lists” to re-post on my blog. My dear mother is a big, big, big fan of audiobooks and I thought she’d get a kick out of this list. A narrator_does_ make or break or book, no?

Audiofile (an online magazine for audiobook fans) did a list of the “best voices of 2008.” The list is broken down by genre(s). I glanced over the list just to see if any of the narrators for the audiobooks I bought my mother were on the list. No such luck (but I can’t recall any complaints either).

I came across the list from reading Neil Gaiman’s blog because he is recognized on the list as one of the best “author-reader” narrators for his YA novel, “The Graveyard Book” (of which I graded a B). Gaiman is quite proud of this accomplishment (as well he should be) because not everyone is blessed with “the golden voice.”

I’ve never been a fan of audiobooks myself but for some people, like my mother, audiobooks have been a life saver for those long commutes. Anyway, enjoy the list and if you care to share some of your favorite audiobooks, please do so in the comments.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Audiobooks: The Best Voices of 2008

  1. Trisha says:

    Neil Gaiman…sigh.

    He does have a great voice. I got the Coraline audiobook largely because of it.

  2. Alyssa says:

    I really like James Marsters, who does the Dresden Files books on audio. He does a good job.

  3. Avid Reader says:

    The Dredsen books. I think she’ll get a kick out of those, thanks Alyssa!

    Trisha, I have Coraline by Gaiman TBR and I plan to get to it this year, too.

Leave a Reply

