Publisher's Weekly Top Ten Manga for 2008

So, Publisher’s Weekly did a list of their top ten manga titles for 2008. During my perusal of this _list_,I didn’t see VAMPIRE KNIGHT by Hino (which is loaded full of angst and has a love triangle in it) or BLOOD ALONE (bittersweet love story) by Takano. No, of course not. What tepid tastes I have. Anyway, the author of the article suggests that manga isn’t just for teens anymore. What is popular among mature adults?

Awhile ago, I read VAGABOND (vol.1) by Takehiko Inoue that tells the fictionalized story of Musashi’s life and I have really enjoyed the series (or as much of it as I can find at the moment). This author also has a series that is being reprinted and is out right now that centers around a guy (he’s described as a thug) who tries _really_ hard at a sport he hates (basketball) to attract the attention of a certain female. OMG. Doesn’t this sound really, really good?

Anyway, SLAM DUNK by Takehiko Inoue sits at the top spot for most popular Japanese manga of last year (2008). As for the rest of the list – ah, never even heard of most of these titles. Must go see what my library has in stock. I wish SLAM DUNK was available digitally because then all I would need to do is pay for it and then go read in a corner somewhere. Looks like volume two is due out Feb 2009.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Publisher's Weekly Top Ten Manga for 2008

  1. nath says:

    Actually, Keishon, Slam Dunk is AWESOME!!! LOL šŸ™‚ I just LOVE this manga… This was an earlier work of Takehiko Inoue… once you get past the first two volumes, you’re just hooked! šŸ™‚

    There’s been rumors for year that there will be a sequel; unfortunately, Takehiko Inoue is busy with Vagabond… but I do wish he picks this series again and make a sequel!

    While waiting for the digital copy, you can always read it online for free at http://www.onemanga.com

  2. Avid Reader says:

    You are the MAN! Thanks!! I’m not holding out on a digital copy showing up anytime soon. Thanks again (running off to go read!)

  3. nath says:

    Let me know what you think of it, Keishon!! Personally, I really liked it! I didn’t expect it at first, because I don’t really enjoy basket ball, but it was really good šŸ™‚

    Then again, I seem to end up liking every sport manga LOL šŸ™‚

  4. Kailana says:

    Okay, you like Vampire Knight? I have recently been adding more manga to my reading pile, and everyone that I asked didn’t like that manga. You generally have good taste, so maybe I will check it out afterall!

  5. Avid Reader says:

    Nath, I missed this Monday but plan to review SLAM DUNK so be on the look out for it and thanks for the link, my friend.

    Kailana – I _love_ VAMPIRE KNIGHT but alas, it might not be for everybody as it is full of angst and well, I love that aspect of the series and of course the men are just gorgeous! I hope you like it if you decide to read it.

  6. nath says:

    Can’t wait to see what you thought of Slam Dunk!! Really hope you enjoyed!

  7. nath says:

    LOL, so where’s your review ^_^;

    • Avid Reader says:

      I may post it late tonight or tomorrow. I still got time. LOL. You got me Nath. I am still reading the first volume (she said ducking) but it is good, I like it. Hanamichi is such a tempermental dude! Even though I could read it online, I went ahead and bought my copy. The first three or four chapters were in color, of course after flipping through quickly I realized that it wasn’t all in color (as that would have been sweet).

Leave a Reply

