TBR Challenge 2009 Sign-Up

Those readers who are interested in signing up for the TBR Challenge 2009, leave a comment below with a link to your site. You do not have to have a blog to participate. Rules are the same as before, 2007 and back, the older the title the better. No penalty for reading 2008 books if that is all you have. No 2009 reads (nope).

Books can be of any genre, fiction, non-fiction, graphic novels, etc. The day to post your review will be every third Wednesday of the month with reminders from me the week before or the week of if time gets away from me. I will keep a separate page of participants like before and again, this is all voluntary. Readers can continue to join even after the challenge has started.

I decided to assign a particular challenge for each month with the default being that if you can’t do the assigned challenge, you can read whatever you like from your TBR pile and post your review as per usual. I wanted to shake things up a bit, make you all dig these books out of your stacks. No purchase is necessary to participate in this challenge (so please don’t run out and buy a book just to participate…unless you want to).

We will officially start January 2009 (dates will be posted this weekend) and here are the assigned challenges:

January It’s all about the category, baby. Harlequin, Sil. Intimate Moments, Harl. Blaze, Harl. Presents. A lot of readers have been enjoying some great category titles of late. Hey, they’re quick reads, too! Did you buy any of them last year and didn’t read them? Now is your chance. Don’t have any? Grab a book out of your stacks and get to reading, you’re not excused.

February Find a DIK review book at AAR that you bought and read it. We’ve all bought some of these books and now is the time to see if they truly are DIK. Let’s demystify some of these claims or validate them. Any genre. Don’t have one (really?), just grab a book and read it.

March This month is dedicated to the historical novel (and dying breed). Do you have a good historical novel just lying around that you really, really, really want to read? If you don’t care to read a historical, follow the procedure as stated above, just grab a book out of your stacks and read it.

April Urban fantasy, fantasy or SFR…ohhhh, Patricia Briggs, Ann Aguirre, Charlaine Harris to name a few. Did you buy any of their stuff and didn’t read it yet? Now is your chance and if you’re already caught up, just pick a book out of your stacks and read it with the rest of us.

May Ok, challenges get more specific. For the month of May, pick a book that has a friends to lovers theme or some variation to it. All of us have these somewhere in our stacks and if not, you know what you need to do (see above).

June Tortured heroes are my favorite! They are usually found in historicals but see if you can find a tortured guy in your stacks or a tortured heroine (they’re even rarer!). Read and review it and if you have no luck with finding such a hero in your huge, humongous stacks, just grab a book and read it.

July Wrongfully accused or just released from jail theme books are another favorite of mine. I always seek these out and I may have to do some rereading for this month as there are some real good ones out there that I’ve read but I think I should have some in my stacks. If you don’t have such a book in your huge mountain of books, you know what you need to do (see above).

August Ok, I’m going to start assigning authors – Julie Garwood, Liz Carlyle, Judith McNaught, Nora Roberts, Johanna Lindsey, Connie Brockway, Laura Kinsale, Mary Balogh, Carla Kelly, Joan Wolf – own any of these author’s books and haven’t read them yet? Now is your chance. Already caught up – you know what you need to do.

September Linda Howard, Elizabeth Hoyt, Joanna Bourne, Sherry Thomas, Meljean Brook, Lois Bujold, Shanna Abe, Penelope Williamson, Jayne Ann Krentz, Amanda Quick, Rachel Gibson, Victoria Holt, Mary Stewart, Sandra Brown, Loretta Chase or whoever else you have in your stacks and you just haven’t taken the time to read them yet.

October Horror. Yep. Stephen King, Dean Koontz, or whoever else you have in your TBR stacks and if you don’t want to read anything scary, you know what you need to do.

November Turkey day. Find a book that has a Thanksgiving theme (good luck with that!) or if you can’t find a book that does have a turkey theme, just grab a book out of your stacks and read it.

December Easy. Christmas themes and if you’re like me and can’t stand Christmas themed stories, just grab a book out of your stacks and read it. Congratulations, you’ve completed this year’s challenge.

Any questions, suggestions, criticisms, please leave a comment. I came up with themes, authors, genres just to give you some ideas but this is your TBR mountain and you know what books you have in there. My goal is the same as yours – to help you weed some of these books out of there! Ok, are we ready to have fun yet?

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to TBR Challenge 2009 Sign-Up

  1. ames says:

    Excellent idea Keishon! I’m definitely up for a monthly theme, so count me in please. πŸ˜›

  2. Nicole says:

    This will help my new year resolutions, so count me in.

  3. Jorrie Spencer says:

    Okay, this sounds like such fun. I’m a bit worried about pulling it off, but I can’t resist joining up. I actually have a couple of really old categories…

  4. Sayuri says:

    Ready and raring to go….

  5. Renee says:

    I’m in! I love the themed months. πŸ™‚

  6. nath says:

    I’m in too, Keishon!! I agree, the monthly theme is a good idea! πŸ˜€

  7. bookwormom says:

    Count me in, too. I’ve plenty of TBR to sort through.
    bookwormom.blogspot.com

  8. Shannon C. says:

    I meant to sign up last year and tried to do it unofficially, but more or less failed. So I’m making it official and signing up. I’ll be posting my reviews on my Livejournal. πŸ™‚

  9. Kailana says:

    I’m in! I didn’t do very good last year, but I think I can handle it this year. All I have to do it read… An amazing feat, I know!

  10. tvaddictgurl says:

    I meant to sign up last year and flaked, but I’m totally on board for this year.

  11. Li says:

    I’m definitely in! Love the monthly themes – excellent idea.

  12. Pingback: Reading Challenges « Me and my books

  13. Angela James says:

    I’m going to participate but I have to admit that I loved the open format of last year’s challenge since it felt less like an assignment, so I can’t promise I’ll do the themes. But I’ll still participate!

  14. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Angela –

    Just want to clarify that this challenge is still OPEN. Read whatever you want! My themes are just suggestions and if you choose not to do any of the themes that is perfectly alright. I won’t frown and label you a troublemaker. *g* I am putting together the calender and romance references to provide help for those who choose to follow the themes.

    Thanks everybody for participating!

  15. Jenn says:

    I missed last year, but I’m in this year. The themes are definitely a help and I admit I have some of those genres I’ve never read, but I do own in my TBR

  16. Ann Aguirre says:

    This looks really fun. (And I’m swooning over being listed with Patricia Briggs and Charlaine Harris.)

  17. Ann-Kat says:

    This looks like another fun one. I’ve been making my rounds for the new year and deciding which challenges I’d like to participate in and this is shaping up to be one of them. πŸ˜€

    I really do need to plow through that TBR pile. Can’t promise I’ll remain on theme each and every month, but I do like the suggestions.

  18. senetra says:

    I’m going to participate this year. I might actually make headway in the TBR this year.

  19. G says:

    I am definitely in, although I expect I will free form: my TBR pile is a danger to my health at this point!(If it fell over, it might crush me!)

    I will go grab a book (off one of the back burner piles, not the front burner piles) right now and start the year right;).

  20. Jill D. says:

    Hi Keishon, Last year I didn’t participate, but I sure did enjoy reading the reviews every month. I loved the variety and never knew what to expect. This year though, my TBR pile has grown leaps and bounds so I need to whittle it down and this is a great way to do that. Therefore, I am going to try my hand at this challenge as well. Please add me to your list of participants!

  21. KristieJ says:

    Count me in again this year. Is that the icon we put on our blogs??

  22. Avid Reader says:

    Hi KristieJ, I believe you can use the icon. I can’t remember if I got this image from stockexchange or not as I am now not finding it there but I don’t see a problem with it as long as it’s a thumbnail image.

  23. Taja says:

    I followed this challenge last year and really liked it. With the monthly themes, it looks like even more fun. So this year – despite my pitiful TBR pile of 37 books and less than half of them from 2007 or before – I sign up. Obviously, I won’t have a matching book for every theme, but I’ll try. Count me in, please.

  24. KristieJ says:

    Hummfff – my comment got eaten. Anyway – I’m in again this year. And I was wondering if that is the icon we use on the blogs?

  25. KristieJ says:

    And blushing in embarrassment, it didn’t get eaten – comments goe upwards!!

  26. jmc says:

    Count me in!

    (Is there a character minimum? I received an error message and was told to go back and try again because my comment was too short.)

  27. Avid Reader says:

    (Is there a character minimum? I received an error message and was told to go back and try again because my comment was too short.)

    Uh, not that _I_ am aware of because that is…strange, that it should give you that error. Let me know if that happens again.

  28. Christine says:

    I’m in again! I didn’t follow through last year–only lasted maybe four months, but I’m determined this time to make a bigger dent in my TBR pile mountain! I love the monthly themes and will try my best to follow your suggestions. Sounds fun! πŸ˜€

    http://theromanticlife.blogspot.com

  29. Phyl says:

    I’m in again. It was great discipline last year. I like starting with a category. I need short and sweet right now!

  30. LesleyW says:

    LOL – I’ll be joining in again, though I think I’ll struggle with some of the challenges. Historicals – eep! I’m sure I’ve got at least one on my TBR pile, probably somewhere at the bottom. πŸ™‚

  31. Pingback: Nice Mommy~Evil Editor » Blog Archive » I think I love Kassia Kroszer (and other random links)

  32. Jennygirl says:

    Please count me in. Looking forward to whittling down my TBR list πŸ™‚
    Quick question: When we do our reviews, post on my site and then link to yours or comment with a link?

    Here is my website:
    http://jennylovestoread.blogspot.com/

  33. Pingback: 2009: The Challenges - Today, I Read…

  34. Ann-Kat says:

    Another one that didn’t participate last year (found out a bit late), but I’ve decided that I would like to participate this year. πŸ˜€ I especially love the themed months and will try to follow it closely, if not to the letter. Thanks for hosting it!

  35. Sarai says:

    I am game I will do this one on http://saraisbookchallenges.blogspot.com/ sight~
    Thanks for hosting again!

  36. jillyfae says:

    well, as my NY’s resolution involved practicing my analysis skills by starting some reviews on my blog, this seems like the perfect fit. I am so excited!

  37. Brie says:

    I love the themes, that should help me keep up to date with the challenge. I’m in.

    http://www.bibliophilemusings.com/

  38. Colleen says:

    I’m in!! I love this idea!

    I’ve even started a book that’s perfect for this month – “Here and Then” by Linda Lael Miller, which is a re-issue of hers by Silhouette Special Edition.

    What fun!

  39. Jane says:

    I’ll give it a whirl. Let’s see if I can keep up for more than a month this time.

  40. RenΓ©eW says:

    Count me in. I’ll give it a try again this year even though I only made it three times last year. I like the idea of a monthly theme.

  41. Kara says:

    New to this challenge this year. But love the theme idea!! So count me in –

    Here’s the link to my post.

  42. Lori says:

    I’m in. This will force me to read a bit more variety this year.

  43. Amy says:

    I’m going to go ahead and try my hand at this. I had fun reading a lot of the reviews for the challenge last year, so count me in for ’09!

  44. Jenny Simpson says:

    This sounds like fun! I’ll have to get busy. Thanks

    For Feb. what i DIK and AAR? Just thinking ahead.

  45. Tracee says:

    Sounds great – count me in!

  46. Lindy says:

    I didn’t se my name, but thought I had signed up, anyway, I woudl like to be in. No blog yet, but I can post here.

  47. I’ve not signed up yet, but count me in… sounds like loads of fun. How many of us have bought books and they just sit on the shelf… I will dust them off and get ready… So today being wednesday.. Ummm, I’ll begin a romance (jan?)

  48. Lisa says:

    I’m in again! This is the ONLY challenge I completed successfully last year! I don’t read a ton of romances any more, but I certainly have them littering the TBR, so I love that you are really challenging me to read them.

  49. Gina Cole says:

    Count me in again this year. Last year time got away from me and I missed Dec. This year I am determined to get it done. πŸ™‚ The themes seem fun. I don’t read romances anymore…but I am sure I can find something here to work at least some of the themes.

  50. Avid Reader says:

    Hi _everybody_. Wow. Did I mention that there will be no monetary incentive this time around? Ok. Good. Now that that’s out of the way. More updates for you: First, I have already done a page for you all to peruse and link to if you want (look further down the page). Linkage is not required as I will be doing this challenge along with you and will post the link in my review for the other participants in this challenge. If you are familiar with how I did it last year – yeah, more of the same. I will have everybody’s links on ONE page. Straight shot down the line.

    Secondly, excuse me for using terms that left no explanation(s) or keys for you to understand what the heck I am talking about when I say AAR or DIK. Well, AAR stands for All About Romance and that is a pretty good romance review site that I have about a million links to since many of us will probably be using those links for this challenge. DIK simply means _Desert Isle Keeper_ and that usually refers to books that if we were stranded on a deserted island somewhere, those books with that designation would be the “keepers” we would like to be stranded with on a deserted island. AAR site has a list of such books that are graded, naturally, A- or better and many of us have bought these books at one time or another. I know I have a bunch.

    Let’s see what else, we start January 21, 2009. I should have all the participants listed on the TBR Challenge 2009 page by this weekend.

    Any other questions, comments, don’t hesitate to ask. Thank you guys for participating (especially the ones who did it last year, you guys rocked!)

    *edited to correct embarrassing typos*

  51. Ashley says:

    I’m in! πŸ™‚ This will help with my new year’s resolution too – spend less money on books by reading the zillion or so I’ve already purchased. Love the themes too – I’ll be going through my TBR stacks this weekend to see what I have that will fit!

  52. I’ve never done a reading challenge before, so I’m going to try to fit this in around my (busy) writing schedule.

    Margay Leah Justice
    http://margayleahjustice.com

  53. I’m joining!! Had missed this one so I will need to get on the ball with this one. New Year, New chance to discover your next favorite author.

  54. Dana says:

    I’ll give this a shot. I have a few silhouette bombshell (RIP) books lying around for Jan.

    http://www.crookedbookshelf.com/

  55. Jan says:

    The themes you have listed for each month sound like fun. I’m looking forward to this again this year.

  56. sally906 says:

    OK – I have it on my challenge blog ready to go one 21st arrives – love the idea of a theme each month πŸ™‚

  57. Janine says:

    I am going to try it out. Though since my reviews run on DA, and Jane is doing it too, plus seven other reviewers to take into consideration, I don’t know if we’ll always be able to fit them exactly on the third Wednesday of the month. We’ll aim for it, anyhow…

  58. Pingback: TBR Challenge 2009 « Drowning in Books

  59. Jia says:

    Another DA reviewer giving this a go. I’m actually reading a 2007 book right now in preparation for its sequel coming out in a couple months.

  60. Rosie says:

    The fact I’m typing this on the 11th of January doesn’t bode well does it? But I discovered Carla Kelly last year even though I pooped out in September (or October). For that reason alone it’s worth giving this a go this year. I like the challenge of a different sort of book each month too. I have a week yet so, am I too late?

  61. Avid Reader says:

    I have a week yet so, am I too late?

    Of course it’s not too late. Checking online, mine seems to be the easiest one out there!

  62. Hmmm, that last comment didn’t work. Trying again! Sounds like a great challenge. I’ve listed my challenge page under my Website field!

  63. Lillian says:

    I’d like to participate, please. I just created a blog for the purpose, so you have to let me in! It’s justonemorechapter.wordpress.com. Thanks for giving me the push I needed!

  64. Avid Reader says:

    I really like the look of your blog, Lillian. Welcome aboard! I’ve added you to the page (or going to after I post this comment).

  65. Pingback: Review: Letters to Kelly by Suzanne Brockmann « reading, etc.

  66. Pingback: REVIEW: The Billionaire Next Door by Jessica Bird | Dear Author: Romance Novel Reviews, Industry News, and Commentary

  67. MaryK says:

    “grab a book out of your stacks”

    πŸ™‚ Made me think of library stacks. Which is not at all an inaccurate description.

  68. Aymless says:

    Whee! Something to help me get from under the growing mass that is the TBR!

  69. I am in for this challenge. For some reason I was confusing this challenge for another one with the same name but then i realized you have monthly themes and it occurred to me that this is different. I love theme book challenges so this one fits the bill since Book A Month will not be running a challenge this year. Thanks for sponsoring this one and thinking up the themes

  70. Here is the link for my review of the book I read for Jan.
    http://jennysimpsonjenny.blogspot.com/2009/01/canopy-of-rose-leaves-isobel-chance.html
    This is fun. Thanks. Now off to hunt for Feb.
    Jenny

  71. Ophelia says:

    I’m doing it. Already on March’s book and will post thoughts on Janaury and February this weekend.

  72. blodeuedd says:

    Late in, but would be fun πŸ™‚
    And my TBR pile is ages old, would be good to get something read from it πŸ™‚
    Any rules on how many?

  73. blodeuedd says:

    I am in then πŸ˜€
    Just posted about it on my blog

Leave a Reply

