REVIEW: 'Proof' by Alex Grecian, Riley Rossmo and Tyler Jenkins

Proof (2008) by Grecian, Rossmo and Jenkins is a digital comic published by Image and there is a paperback version as well. iVerse is a digital comic book distributer for the iPhone and iTouch. As of this writing, there are ten titles available at the App store.

Mike Cane blogged last month about iVerse Comics showing up at the iTunes App store. I am a relatively new comic book fan and naturally, I went straight there to see what was offered. I downloaded 3 titles on Saturday and came way excited about PROOF. If you enjoy The X-Files or Men in Black then Proof should not be missed.

In “Proof” the Lodge is a secret agency funded by the US and Canada to investigate strange and unusual activity. Mysterious creatures that are “sighted” but lack physical evidence or proof of their existence are labeled as “cryptids.” The comic opens with the disappearance of a married couple hiking in the Kekekabic trail in Minnesota and a dangerous cryptid might be involved.

The Lodge is a group of ex-FBI agents who act as “ambassadors” between humans and cryptids. They provide a habitat for the more dangerous cryptids who must live near humans. They don’t hunt them but isolate them from humans.

The story mostly follows two characters – Ginger Brown, an FBI agent who during a burglary has a run in with a golem in the diamond district of New York. Her lieutenant doesn’t believe her report of events but someone else does and thus she finds herself promoted and sent to Washington, D.C. There she learns that not only do golems exist but so does bigfoot, fairies and other mysterious creatures.

Then there is Agent John Prufrock or “Proof” and lone “sasquatch” looking for more of his people. And no, he was not the “bigfoot” seen on the famous footage at Bluff Creek. We meet him during a routine training exercise. Proof provided for much of the humor and here is one where he’s been hit with paint balls and yells “you got me” but he still gets hammered anyway:

I am really excited about ‘Proof’ and have already read the first two installments thus far and want more. There is much that I’ve left out for your enjoyment. If you enjoy folklore and mystery then download this comic. It has substance, great characters and interesting monsters.

What I also enjoyed besides the characters and the plot was the integration of little known facts and myths behind some of the most mysterious creatures while at the same time explaining to readers what is going on in the story. Everything is not fully eplained but I never felt lost.

There seems to be a conflict started by Proof that concerns his partner’s lack of experience. I’m sure that will be elaborated fully further on but meanwhile, the two agents are assigned a case which will be the focus of the third installment (sorry about the long sentence).

The story makes the case that humans are not alone in this world and that there must be some kernel of truth to some of the folklore we’ve heard throughout our life. I thought the authors did a great job of contrasting the fantastic with that of reality. On the negative side, the artwork was somewhat of a eyesore but I adapted. The story was good enough for me to overlook the artwork.

In closing – I’m excited about the future of digital comics and Proof is a worthy title to pick up. Oh, I did read Neozoic vol. 1 and 2 by Paul Ens, J. Korim and Jessie Lam and wasn’t impressed. The only thing going for that digital comic is the graphics. I just wish there was a better story there, alas, there was not. Proof vol. 1 is free and available right now and vol. 2 is available right now for 99 cents and both can be downloaded from iTunes. My grade, B+.

Proof vol.1 has 87 screens in full color and is compatible for iPhone and iTouch with 2.0 software required. Proof vol.2 has 87 screens and is in full color. iVerse comic application work like this: you slide your finger across the screen to turn the page(s). There are three page transitions to choose from: fade, slide or curl. To reach this you must tap the screen and an “i” information icon will pop up. I struggled with getting the darn thing to open. There is also scroll bar where you are able to quickly scroll quickly but it is a numerical value and while reading, I didn’t memorize screen number(s).

Correction: Proof, vol.1 is available in paperback. I apologize for not adding that bit of info but being a ebook fan I recommend the dl’d version of course.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Grade B Reviews, Graphic Novels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to REVIEW: 'Proof' by Alex Grecian, Riley Rossmo and Tyler Jenkins

  1. Jaq says:

    It’s too bad these are digital, or I’d check them out.

    btw, I just finished reading JOKER. It’s very reminiscent of the recent movie in feel and the depiction of Joker. The artwork is fantastic, the story not as great as I expected, but still pretty damn good. Definitely worth checking out.

    http://www.amazon.com/Joker-Brian-Azzarello/dp/1401215815/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227837641&sr=1-1

  2. Avid Reader says:

    I will def. get it today, thanks Jaq.

  3. Michael says:

    @Jaq

    They aren’t JUST digital. You can grab Proof in trade paper back, and the monthly series is in print at your local comic book shop as well.

    No matter how you choose to get it, Proof is a great book, and well worth looking into.

  4. Avid Reader says:

    @Michael and @Jaq – I corrected the info in the post. I agree, Proof is a great read.

  5. vanessa jaye says:

    Michael, thanks for the intel! I have to go hunt down Lex Luthor: Man of Steele, so I’ll definitely keep my eyes peeled for PROOF. I love X-files (even the Dogget years. *g*) and PROOF sounds right up my alley.

    Keishon, the Lex book might interest you as well:

    http://www.amazon.com/Lex-Luthor-Man-Steel-Superman/dp/1401204546/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1228352661&sr=1-4

  6. Avid Reader says:

    @vanessa – didn’t know you were such a comic book fan! Awesome. I did buy Joker and am reading it. You were right. Plan to review it Monday. Thanks and I’ll look at this other one you got here. There’s also All-Star Superman that I read and enjoyed very much. I think you’d like it.

  7. vanessa jaye says:

    I’ll check the Supes out, Keishon. I loved comic books growing up, literally had garbage bags full of the stuff in the attic. Then there was a fire in house, whiile I was in my late teens. I more or less stopped reading them around then, (although I continued to watch cartoons). Fast forward 10 yrs, and I figured one way to get my dyslexic son interested in reading was comic books.

    Let’s just say I created a monster. lol. He has boxes and boxes of comics downstairs and keeps me in the know. I don’t read them like I used to, but they’re definitely still enjoy them. And anything I buy, just gets added to his collection.

    JOKER is awesome, isn’t it? I love how they re-imagined the villians. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for your review.

  8. Avid Reader says:

    I am re-reading the Joker now for my review Monday but yes, it is good. I think I am on a glom for Joker stories right now. If you feel the need to share more comics that you’ve or son have er enjoyed, _letmeknow_! *g* Thanks! You know, every Monday I plan to do comics/manga reviews because I have a lot of titles I want to read so – don’t hesistate to share.

Leave a Reply

