Health: Tramadol Abuse by Teens Increases

Parents should check out this story about Ultram (TM) being the new “teen high” for prescription medication abuse. Ultram (Tramadol) is a non-opioid analgesic used for moderate to moderately severe pain. You may recognize the drug under it’s generic name, Tramadol and it’s street name used by teens goes by “ultras” which is a take-off of the brand name of the drug. I find that it’s getting more and more difficult to keep up with what prescription meds or OTC meds teens abuse today.

via ABC news

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Health: Tramadol Abuse by Teens Increases

  1. Angela James says:

    Huh. I have a prescription of Tramadol here. For my dog. It would never have occurred to me to take it myself, though I know that many meds for dogs are actually “people” meds.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Oh yes. Inhalers, oral meds, eye drops.

  3. Chappy518 says:

    How can I get high off of tramadol?

  4. Haskpts says:

    What stupidity — there are people in astronomical physical pain due to injury. This getting “high” garbage has to stop … those who need REAL pain medication (certainly not a weak opiod receptor binding drug like Tramadol) or receiving little to no help.

  5. dudUER says:

    I HATE TEENAGERS!!!!!

  6. Traig Harper says:

    Tramadol’s give a pretty nice high. That is why they are abused so easily everyone thinks they are extremely weak. I like them more than Vicodin and I’ve taken both a lot. they also contain no acetaminophen which is nice for an alcoholic like myself (i try to baby the old liver when i can.) and its not just “teenagers” a lot of people abuse pills

  7. Avid Reader says:

    @Traig Harper: I realize that Tramadol is not only abused by teens as I’ve seen adults addicted to it too. One day it be a scheduled drug. Mark my words and with that said, I am closing the comments to waylay anyone else who feels the need to share.

Comments are closed.