TBR Day Challenge Is This Wed!

If you’re still with me here, the next TBR day challenge is this Wed. So, get to reading! At last count, I had 10 readers or so still in the contest for the $100 Amazon gift card and you should know who you are if you’ve never skipped a day since we started in March of this year and reviewed books that were 2007 and back.

I think next month I will do a list of who is still in the contest but again, most of you should know this already. Question, without the incentive, would you all be interested in doing this next year? Do you find this challenge helpful at all?

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to TBR Day Challenge Is This Wed!

  1. Kristie(J) says:

    LOL – while I’m not going to lie and say I don’t want to be in the running for the gift certificate, it’s the challenge itself that’s keeping me going *g*. I’m finding this challenge very helpful and I hope you keep doing it. I like a challenge and challenging myself.

  2. LesleyW says:

    Yep, I’d carry on doing it next year. The books I’ve reviewed this year would probably still be on my TBR pile if it hadn’t been for this.

    And this Wednesday it’s an historical! Which I can pretty safely say would still have been there.

  3. Avid Reader says:

    I know what you mean KristieJ, I never would have picked several authors if I hadn’t challenged myself to do so. I will do this next year and of course completely voluntary but I’m actually enjoying reading books from my bookshelf for a change plus this saves me money, too!

    LesleyW – can’t wait to read it! I love historicals. It’s a toss up between a comic book and a suspense novel for me. No romance this time.

  4. Phyl says:

    Oh I have to agree and say that while the contest is a nice incentive, it’s been good to have a “plan.” I already find myself looking ahead to which book will be September’s TBR. I don’t really plan ahead about what I’ll read, and maybe that’s why so many books pile up on Mt. TBR.

    One thing that may or may not be interesting to you (but is to me, LOL), is that in going through the pile choosing what to read, I’ve been reminded that I have some real treasures there. I’ve pulled several that I’ll be reading soon, not necessarily to review for the challenge, but simply because I wanted to read them when I bought them and I want to read them now.

    Oh, and tomorrow’s TBR? Best book I read this summer.

  5. Li says:

    Am definitely on for doing this next year without any monetary incentives – this is a great way of motivating me to read my older TBR books!

    And I’m dying to know what Phyl’s TBR book is now 🙂

  6. LesleyW says:

    Li – LOL Me too.

  7. Rosie says:

    I’d do it without the cash incentive. Right now I just want to try and read from my TBR each month. Without this challenge I never probably would have read Carla Kelley and that would be a downright shame.

  8. AAR Rachel says:

    I’m enjoying exploring my TBR pile. The Amazon gift certificate incentive does keep me on the straight and narrow actually blogging my thoughts in a timely manner, though. 😉 My book budget is zilch, so I’m pretty committed to staying on top of things here. LOL.

    My review is up now, BTW:

    http://grerp.blog-city.com/fever_season.htm

  9. Alyssa says:

    Yep, I’d do it even without the $$$ motivator. It’s helped me make an effort to read my TBR books.

  10. Christine says:

    As someone who’s been out of the running since the first month (I only signed up the day before the first TBR review was due), I’d definitely still participate next year without a prize incentive. The challenge is still effective at forcing me to go to my bookshelf and read a book I would otherwise still be neglecting. Plus, I enjoy hopping around to everyone else’s blog that night or next day to see what everyone else pulled from their TBR.

Leave a Reply

