"There Will Be Blood" is a Strange Film To Watch

There Will Be Blood

There Will Be Blood (2007)” starring Daniel Day-Lewis was a weekend rental. I must share my bafflement over the premise and reception it has received. First, let me say that I almost did an impulsive buy of this movie at Best Buy before my senses returned to me. The sales clerk eyed me holding the movie and exclaimed excitedly that she loved Daniel Day-Lewis and loved this movie. I held firm and rented this movie from Netflix. Turns out it was a good call on my part – this movie made no sense whatsoever to me and no, I don’t need anyone to explain it. If you thought the ending of No Country for Old Men was a WTF moment – try watching this movie. I agree with this customer, this movie is unwatchable.

There are films that are truly great and then there are those films whose greatness eludes me. There Will Be Blood garnered Daniel Day-Lewis an Oscar for his portrayal of a ruthless oil man. If I had to sum up my experience with one word after watching this movie it would be: weird.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to "There Will Be Blood" is a Strange Film To Watch

  1. Wendy says:

    I liked this one a little bit better than No Country For Old Men….

    But that’s not saying a whole lot.

    Seriously, the Academy was smoking crack last year.

  2. ames says:

    I haven’t seen this or No Country for Old Men. I doubt I’ll see either now. šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

