Technology: Goodbye Windows XP

I didn’t know that Microsoft had plans to retire Windows XP. I’m sorry to hear that bit of news. However, I’m not that much of a geek and am not all that broken up about it. It seems that many people are upset over this news and have petitioned Microsoft to hang on to Windows XP. Alas, they are retiring the OS and now we have Visita (which is on my laptop). No need to fret- Microsoft still has plans provide security patches and updates up till April 2014.

Dell has already made the switch and have put Vista on many of it’s computers already. I know that since having Vista that there are little annoyances but not very many and I couldn’t tell you the differences in performance even if I tried hard enough.

via ABC news

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technology: Goodbye Windows XP

  1. jmc says:

    I’m not particular about programs personally, but Vista is a problem for my office — our internal security is not yet compatible with it, so if anyone wants to telework, they need to have XP on the computer at home. I recently ordered a new laptop…with XP on it for that very reason. I’ll eventually switch, but not until the security issues have been worked out.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    I told my mother about this development and she said that her office just upgraded to XP. LOL.

Leave a Reply

