What is Everybody Reading?

I am having a difficult time finding something to read. I’ve started and stopped several books over the weekend. It seems as if NOTHING is of interest to me. Readers help me out here – what are you all reading? Is it any good? Anything you’ve read recently that was a keeper?

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to What is Everybody Reading?

  1. Tilly Greene says:

    Since before Christmas I’ve been reading Linda Fairstein. Interesting mysteries based in NYC with an indepth look into a unique tangent. “Bone Vault” focuses on the workings of both the Natural History Museum and the Met while “Entombed” had Edgar Allan Poe. I’m just starting “Cold Hit” so am not sure what it will be but I’m looking forward to each night slipping into bed and reading a chapter to find out. There’s nothing hard thinking about these book, they’re pure entertainment – just what I’ve needed.

  2. Amie Stuart says:

    I just finished Joanna Barrett’s Men’s Guide to Women’s Bathrooms and I LOVED IT!!! I think next I’m gonna read the second of KMM’s new books–I started it and set it down for some reason.

  3. Renay says:

    I just finished Born to Rock by Gordon Korman, a really hilarious YA novel. Now I’m reading the first volume of Fables by Bill Willingham and a host of artists. Guess it depends on how you feel about comics (but it has fairytales! Living in New York! It’s awesome.)

  4. Rosie says:

    Nothing particularly show stopping but a couple of surprisingly enjoyable reads. A Harlequin Presents Bedded for Diamonds by Kelly Hunter and The Mercernary by Cherry Adair which is a re-release of an earlier Hqn Temptation. Currently my nose is in an older historical by Laura Lee Guhrke that was recommended to me by several people called To Dream Again. It has an interesting twist because it’s 1899 England and a man and a woman are business partners in a factory. I’m only 100 pages in but it’s pretty good.

  5. Samantha says:

    I’ve been on a Barbara Michaels kick lately. I just finished Stitches in Time by her which was freakin fantastic. I also just finished She Went All the Way by Meg Cabot. Which was a fun read romantic read, I love her non-YA books.

  6. Renee says:

    Just read Sunshine by Robin McKinley this weekend. It was great! It really left me wanting to know more about the characters.

  7. Kristie(J) says:

    I just finished Savour Me Slowly by Gena Showalter. I’d read a couple of books by her before and they were ok – but this one I really enjoyed.

  8. Avid Reader says:

    Thanks guys, I really appreciate the titles. I think my “slump” might be over as I did find something to read!

    Meg Cabot – I have quit a few of her books in my pile.

    I also got from my library another graphic novel and Dana Stabenow’s Prepared for Rage – suspense on the water! It sounds really good and I hope it’s good. I am a huge Dana Stabenow fan because I loved her Liam Campbell books which are still on hiatus. Sigh.

  9. jmc says:

    I read Lilith Saintcrow’s Working for the Devil over the weekend. Interesting. I’m not entirely sure what I think yet, although it was intriguing enough that I’m going to look for the next book in the series.

  10. Avid Reader says:

    I read Working for the Devil by Saintcrow when it first came out. It didn’t work for me as I didn’t like the herione much and the voice/style didn’t work for me. I posted on your blog but see I didn’t leave my name!

  11. Li says:

    Julie Hyzy’s “State of the Onion” – Really good cosy mystery, with a White House chef as the main character, so White House trivia and cooking tips to add interest!

    Also coincidentally, I also read Barbara Michaels’ “Stitches in Time” – spooky paranormal mystery! Agree with Samantha, it is good.

  12. Janine says:

    I’m rereading Eva Ibbotson’s A Countess Below Stairs, since azteclady pleaded with me to review it for Dear Author.

  13. vanessa jaye says:

    I’ve finally gotten around to reading Karen Rose’s last release Die for Me.

  14. LesleyW says:

    From my recent reads I’d recommend Jennifer Rardin’s Jaz and Vayl series if you’re looking for something new with vampires. Series starts with Once Bitten, Twice Shy.

    And at the moment I’m reading The Devil Inside by Jenna Black. (Hope I’ve remembered her name right, I’m terrible with names and the book is next door). I’m absolutely loving this and am peeved that I have to wait for the next book. there are BDSM elements so if that’s not your thing bear this is mind.

  15. Avid Reader says:

    Again – thanks for the rec’s guys! I appreciate it.

    Ok I did buy Stiches in Time ebook by Barbara Michaels (never read her before and was interested in the story and had about that much in micropay funds to get it.

    Vanessa – whatcha think of Die For Me? Don’t leave us hanging like this! I expect a full review.

    Lesley – I’m sorta down on vampires right now unless it’s by someone I know but I’ll take a look at the books you’ve mentioned.

  16. Karen S. says:

    I would recommend Ali Ghalem’s “A Wife for my Son.”

Leave a Reply

