Wal-Mart Retailer: Blu-Ray Only, No HD DVD

According to this article, Wal-Mart will exclusively sell Blu-Ray discs and no HD DVD. Anyone disappointed? Don’t care? Also look for Blu-Ray at Target, Netflix and Blockbuster. The war over the DVD format is officially over. I am so glad that I didn’t really commit to anything. I have Blu-Ray because of my P3 but I am in the market for a DVD player.

via ABC News

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wal-Mart Retailer: Blu-Ray Only, No HD DVD

  1. vanessa jaye says:

    I don’t know if our DVDs are HD (although I dobt it) but we have a boat load of them. And before that… a boat load of VHS that we’ve been slowly replacing with DVDS. I don’t even want to think about buying a Blu-Ray player never mind the more pricer discs (compared to regular DVDs). I’m begining to feel scammed. ::frown:: I also heard that some stations are moving towards purely HD transmission by as early as next year, so folks on antenae will be S.O.L. They won’t even be able to pick up basic channels, nevermind the fancy/specialty cable channels. It’s like the whole industry is forcing consumers into this HD tech thing. And they’ll succeed too, if the scarcity of the rotary dial phone is anything to go by….

    Sounds like I’m ranting, doesn’t it? lol. I’m not, we have cable, and I do plan at some point to go HD flatscreen, etc. Just don’t want to be forced to do it.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    I still believe that there will be the regular DVD format and then the Blu-Ray format. Like you I don’t mind technology but I hate being forced to do it. The price of these products are not cheap. I must admit that I have HD TV and love it and don’t want to watch movies any other way. It’s very addictive. I doubt if the regular DVD format goes away but in terms of HD format – it’s Blu-way coming out the winner. I noticed the price drop on HD DVD players last year so I was expecting this. But you know the old saying right? Once you buy something, it’s already outdated [g]

Leave a Reply

