TBR Day: The Specifics

Here are the specifics for TBR day as I think we’ve ironed out the details. For my new people – TBR are those books that are still waiting to be read. Our goal is to focus more time on our TBR stockpiles that have accumulated over the years. Some readers are already doing this which is great. Some of us need incentive and like doing this as a group and that would be me. We had a good turn out as far as participants go so on with the details:

  • TBR day will be held on the third Wednesday of every month
  • You are to pick at least one book out of your TBR pile to read and review
  • Format is flexible just make sure your title indicates in some variation of TBR Day (TBR Wed, copyright year, etc)
  • There are no penalties for not participating as this is a month to month thing; join when you can
  • I am adding an incentive and that is a $100 gift certificate (Amazon or Fictionwise) for the reader who completes this project without skipping a month. Note: if there is more than one reader, there will be a drawing
  • Edited to add: I had originally stated anything from 2006 and back but we will go with 2007 and back

Since my blog had some technical difficulties I do not have a list of all the participants so please send me your links when this project starts in March 08 or leave a comment. It is optional if you would like to link to other participants on your own blog but I would need a link to keep track of who is participating. If I am leaving anything out or if you have any questions, please leave a comment on this post. Thanks. Remember: this is supposed to be fun and hopefully at the end of it all, I’d be interested in knowing how many books you’ve managed to read out of your TBR pile and if you’ve met your goal[if you set any].

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to TBR Day: The Specifics

  1. nath says:

    I’m totally in 🙂 However, I have a question… does the book need to be 2006 and before? I’m one of the ppl who’ve just recently started having a TBR pile and so I don’t have that many books prior to 2006.

  2. Li says:

    Glad your blog troubles got sorted quickly. Am definitely in and will set up links!

  3. Pingback: Around the Web « Me and my books

  4. RenéeW says:

    Glad you’re doing this. Count me in.

  5. vanessa jaye says:

    I’d love to join, but don’t think it’d work for me at this time. I will keep checking in here to see what everyone is reading.

  6. Avid Reader says:

    does the book need to be 2006 and before? I’m one of the ppl who’ve just recently started having a TBR pile and so I don’t have that many books prior to 2006.

    I forgot to mention that in my post. We can do 2007 and up, would that work for you, Nath?

  7. LesleyW says:

    I’m interested in this.

    My TBR us waaaaayyy out of hand, and could use all the help it can get.

  8. seton says:

    I’m in! Are you going to post a reminder when the third Wed comes up every month? Just curious.

  9. Avid Reader says:

    Are you going to post a reminder when the third Wed comes up every month? Just curious.

    Between Cindy S and I, we will have you all covered for the exact dates and reminders for our TBR day.

  10. Brie says:

    It’s good to see you back up! I’m really looking forward to the challenge, it should help me cut back on buying new books without reading the ones I already have.

    BTW, I have tagged you with a meme. ; 0

  11. Lisa says:

    If this is still open I’d like to join!

  12. Pingback: Decrease in Buying; More Time Reading « I Read What??

  13. lys says:

    I’ll be joining the fun!

  14. lys says:

    http://ireadwhat.wordpress.com/

    Sorry, I almost forgot a link!

  15. Jan says:

    I would like to join in as well. By the first part of March I will be back home and have my high speed internet connection–and my own computer again. I can sympathize with you about your blog problems. Glad to see you back up again and I’m ready to tackle my pile of books!

  16. Billy Goat says:

    I was wondering what happened to this project! Glad to see that you’re still running with it.

    I’m still in. However, I have doubts that I will be able to finish a book in one day. Therefore, my reviews will have to be tailored…. Either I’ll just write about what I read, or I’ll pick some short story collections.

    I like your incentive, too! Great idea!

  17. Angela James says:

    Just one book a month? Or more? And it has to be finished by the third Wednesday of every month?

  18. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Angela,

    You could read more than one book, read as many as you like. I just thought it’d be nice for the reading community to post whatever books they had read from their TBR on the third Wed of every month. Kinda showcase what they liked or disliked. I’ll have a links page to spotlight all the participants. Hope that helps!

  19. Angela James says:

    Okay, I’ll play 🙂

  20. sonia says:

    Hi

    I would like to do this, but I don’t have a website or a blog? Where would I post the review? And could I do if more often than every third Wednesday?

  21. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Sonia, you are more than welcome to post your review here on my blog. Just email it to me at shon 43 [a t] gmail. [c o m] . I designated every third Wed as a day where all readers can spotlight their TBR book reviews – more or less you can review and post them well ahead of time if you want but I’ll spotlight such reviews on the third Wed of every month. You can read and post them early if you like, just send me a link and I’ll spotlight your review on TBR Day. In the end, I’m only devoting one day a month for TBR Day. Hope this helps.

  22. Sonia says:

    Thanks avidreader!

    I think my first book will be Dancing With Werewolves: Delilah Street, Paranormal Investigator. Been meaning to get to this for the a while, read the first few pages and never read any further! And it was published in October of last year so it should be alright. I will email the review!

  23. Kailana says:

    I am in! I am having a bad reading year, I need some incentives. I haven’t really bought any books this year, so my reading pile all will apply. Yay!

  24. Christine says:

    Please count me in, too. 🙂

  25. Gina Cole says:

    I would love to join in, too. Luckily, I am almost ready with a TBR review given that today is the 3rd Wednesday.

Leave a comment