Steve Jobs, Ebook Devices: What does the future hold?

I thought this NY Times article was quite interesting where it compares key features of top ebook readers, Sony Reader and Kindle, and how it’s E-ink technology matches that of paper but are the reading public ready to read books on such devices? Maybe. Of course nothing replaces the feel of a good book in your hands or enjoying the cover or looking at books line your nice bookshelves. The sales from book industry experts seem to indicate that Apple CEO, Steve Jobs, may be wrong about Americans not reading anymore or the outlook is not as dire as Mr. Jobs may indicate. It’s a shame that he seems to scorn any technology relating to ebook software when Apple has the perfect device, the iPhone, to compete with Kindle in it’s wireless downloads of books. I hope Mr. Jobs has a change of heart but I won’t be holding my breath.

[tags]Book industry, ebook readers, technology[/tags]

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steve Jobs, Ebook Devices: What does the future hold?

  1. Li says:

    I’m completely in *love* with my Sony Reader – BUT – I think for books which I really really want, I’m going to buy the old-fashioned paper kind, because I want to see it sit on my bookshelf and stroke its cover 🙂

    But for books I’m not dying to read, I’m probably going to get an e-book version, if there is one.

    Err… having said that, I’d be pretty torn if an ebook version was available and I couldn’t get to the bookstore until, say, the following week.

  2. Dede says:

    Steve Jobs, co-founder of Apple was named best performing CEO. He increased the company’s value to $150 billion during his 12 year tenure. http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/12/21/apples_steve_jobs_named_worlds_best_performing_ceo.html

Leave a Reply

