Year In Review: YA novels

Young adult novels has and continues to provide me with gripping and inspiring stories. Often the stories are serious and reflective of the social issues that teens are faced with today. Some authors in this genre go even further to pen stories that have very adult themes. I’ve also noticed many bestselling authors are looking to gain new readership in this genre. Anyway, here is my list of read YA novels for 2007 that were not necessarily published in 2007.

  • The Thief Series by Megan Whalen Turner – the first book, The Thief was a Newberry Honor book where the stories in this series follows the adventures of Eugenides, who is a self-proclaimed thief of Eddis. The stories can be best described as historical fantasy novels. Each successive book in the series is darker with a plot that gets more complicated. The author is heavy handed on the politics of which I love and mythology is also an intricate part of the stories. The “unrequited love” theme is sort of unobtrusive and added a nice touch to the series. Excellent books worth reading for adults and teens alike. Other books in the series include: The Queen of Attolia and The King of Attolia.
  • The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie story deals with race and class and self-identity. The author uses humor to lighten up the serious social and economical truths faced by minorities. The illustrated parts of the novel added more depth to the characters. It’s an inspiring novel for adults and teens alike.
  • Friends Unlikely by Susan Smith Alvis – this story tackles taboo topics like AIDS and drug addiction, peer pressure and other social issues teens are faced with today. Pacing was excellent because I finished it quickly and the story was gripping if just a tiny bit preachy. *Correction*Available in ebook and print from Amazon.com!
  • Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer – Meyer was heralded as the next “JK Rowling of publishing” but for me this entry in the Twilight series was a huge disappointment. The author uses well worn themes and the dreaded love triangle
  • Adios to My Old Life by Caridid Ferrer – very good novel about reality TV seen through the eyes a contestant passionate about music
  • The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen – excellent novel that made me glom Ms. Dessen’s current and past books
  • Ironside by Holly Black – one of the best writers of fantasy for teens
  • Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause – movie sucked I’m told but the book is excellent with a to-die-for-hero that snuck up on me
  • Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith – good story with some slow spots. I still have the sequel here in my TBR volcano

This wraps up my series of “year end reviews” of books read in 2007. I’m looking forward to what 2008 has to offer. I also added some more YA novels to my reading stacks that look really, really good.

This entry was posted in Avid Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Year In Review: YA novels

  1. kris says:

    I love YA paranormal stuff. A couple that i found recently that i liked were The Faerie Path by Frewin Jones and Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead.

  2. Jan says:

    I like your series posts on different types of books for 2007. I liked Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr, the Morganville Vampire series by Rachel Caine, Blue Bloods and Masquerade by Melissa De La Cruz in 2007. Blood and Chocolate is a favorite of mine from several years ago. I haven’t read The Thief series, but I’m going to look for those books. Marked by P. C. Cast and her daughter Kristen was the first book I read this year and it was quite good.

  3. vanessa jaye says:

    Don’t think I read any YA at all (although, I’m almost sure Queen of Atolia is in the tbr pile)

    btw, did you do a romance round up? Did I miss it? Or an ebook one?

  4. Avid Reader says:

    btw, did you do a romance round up? Did I miss it? Or an ebook one?

    I didn’t read that many romances to warrant a list. The only romance that stood out for me was Mary Balogh’s The Notorious Rake. As for ebooks, hmmm. I’ll have to see if there are enough to generate a list.

  5. trisha says:

    The Truth About Forever is the only Sarah Dessen book I haven’t read and it’s the one people seem to love the most. Guess I’ll be checking it out once it gets returned to the library.

Leave a Reply

