REVIEW: 'Iron Kissed (A Mercy Thompson Series)' by Patricia Briggs

Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs, published Jan 2008, is the third book in the Mercy Thompson series, published by Ace.

VW mechanic, Mercy Thompson, is a shape shifter. She is a walker who shifts from human to coyote at will.  In the world that Mercy inhabits, the werewolves, fae and vampires exist alongside humankind. 

However, the fae and the werewolves have been somewhat forced to make their existence known to the public.  In Iron Kissed, the fae call in a debt from Mercy and she must deliver. There have been numerous murders in Fairyland and her mentor, Zee, wants her to help him “sniff” out the killer.

In this entry, we learn more about the world of fairyland. We learn that the fae are a secretive bunch who choose to keep to themselves. Since being outed to the public, they now live on reservations.  The  laws in fairyland are swift but not always just. There is a hierarchy of power within their community where there are various types of fae who have a certain degree of power and who would like to remain unnoticed. At the top of that hierarchical power structure are The Gray Lords who rule fairyland and it’s inhabitants. The fae are very protective of their secrets and are willing to sacrifice one of their own to keep them that way.

There are several interesting subplots that support the main plot of the story. For instance, there is the choice that Mercy must make between two suitors: Dr. Samuel Cornick who is a medical doctor and the son of the Marrok. The Marrok is the leader of all the werewolves and they are led by Bran. They also raised Mercy with the pack before she struck out on her own. Then there is Adam Hauptman, the Alpha of the Colombia Basin Pack, who has already declared Mercy his “mate” without her permission. Mercy’s reluctance to choose between the two men has led to a weakness within the pack’s infrastructure. The pack is restless and their leader is short-tempered. The pack continue to remind Mercy that she must make a decision soon.  

Then there is the social issues and politics about the supernatural community that I enjoy the most. Like humans, the werewolves and fae have to deal with the hate groups, the ignorance and bigotry and if anybody gets out of line, there’s someone to help with damage control. Magic and folklore play a significant role in this series and is inter-weaved nicely to help solidify this wonderful world that Briggs has created. Mercy is a great narrator. Her posturing and maneuvering within the supernatural community is a dangerous balancing act. She is knowledgeable of folklore, having a degree in history. She is often useful in her coyote form because of her sensitive nose and is often protected by Adam’s pack when trouble comes calling. Despite being helpful, Mercy often finds herself knowledgeable of sensitive information regarding the supernatural community that will always put her in harm’s way.

Iron Kissed was a quick read. Brigg’s fans shouldn’t be disappointed. Mercy does choose her man in the end so no more going back and forth. There’s plenty of action, monsters, politics and dark magic to burn the midnight oil late into the night. On the softer side,  you have flirting and kisses with some “heat” but no explicit sex scenes. Readers learn a little bit more about Zee that goes a bit beyond the “glamour.” And then there’s Mercy herself, who has to deal with the emotional aftermath toward resolution’s end. The mystery of “who shot John” wasn’t terribly difficult but then that didn’t bother me.

This is yet another strong entry in the Mercy Thompson series with one major plot point resolved.  I’m sure faults can be found if one were to look closely enough. However, I was too engrossed in the story to notice them (if at all). New readers, this book can stand alone but if you’re interested in reading the first book in the series, it is Moon Called and after that, Blood Bound. As a former Laurell K. Hamilton fan, I am quite pleased to be engrossed in a well written and well structured urban fantasy series that blends the elements of fantasy with reality almost seamlessly. My grade A.

You may purchase this book in ebook or paper format on Jan 2, 2008.

[tags]Patricia Briggs, Fantasy Reviews, Fairyland, Werewolves[/tags]

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Grade A Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to REVIEW: 'Iron Kissed (A Mercy Thompson Series)' by Patricia Briggs

  1. Kailana says:

    Well, I’m sad. I preordered this book and I don’t have it yet. 😦 Nor an email saying it has been shipped!

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Hey, Kailana. Hopefully your books has shipped off to you because you’re in for a treat.

  3. Marie says:

    The son of the Marrock is Sam not Simon…major character…if doing a review you might want to get the name right!!!!

  4. Avid Reader says:

    Sorry! I am always calling him Simon for some reason. It’s corrected.

  5. Angie says:

    I really enjoyed your review. I managed to get my hands on a copy a few days before it was supposed to be out and this 3rd installment confirms the awesomeness of these books. I just love them. And, like you, I totally get into the political maneuvering of the pack, seethe, what have you. I’ll be interested to see how Mercy deals with everything in the next book.

  6. kris says:

    I love this series. I have it on request at the library but I think that i am going to break down and buy it before it gets here.

  7. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Angie, I love the politics and the folklore! They are some of the best parts of the books to me.

    Hi Kris, go ahead and splurge. It’s really, really good. Each book so far in this series has been pretty strong.

  8. Brie says:

    Great review.

    I have been wanting to start this series. Actually, the only reason I haven’t is because I like to start a series when there are a few books out for it. I’m too impatient to be satisfied with one installment of an ongoing story for more than a couple of months.

    Now that there are three books out I’ll give it a try.

  9. Cheryl says:

    Just finished this book yesterday and I agree – it is another terrific novel from Patricia Briggs.

    A few notes – the correct spelling is Marrok with no ‘c’, Columbia Basin not Colombian Basin and you switch the spelling from the correct ‘fae’ to ‘fey’ in the second paragraph. Minor items, all.

    Your review is well-detailed and provides a lot of great information on the story. An excellent review of one of my new favorite books.

  10. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Cheryl, all has been corrected. Thanks! You know Briggs has another book coming out, featuring the couple from the anthology, Anna and Charles from On the Prowl, release date, July 29, 2008.

  11. Cheryl says:

    I loved the On the Prowl story about Anna and Charles and am eagerly awaiting release of the new book. If only we could speed up the publishing industry…

  12. Angie says:

    Amen. July seems so far away…

  13. Jaime says:

    I’d forgotten this book was due for release! Reading your review (which I thought was wonderful, I know who you meant when you said Simon) has made me decide I have to get to a book store, pronto!

  14. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Jamie and thank you :-)) You’re in for a treat!

  15. Pingback: Urban Fantasy: Briggs and Chance « Jorrie Spencer

  16. Jessica says:

    I just finished Iron Kissed, and I can’t wait for book 4 to come out Jan of 2009! Very nice review there Avid! I personally loved the Celtic folklore–because of some of the faery tales that are mentioned in the book–I actually checked out a Celtic Mythology book and looked some of them up…!

  17. FantasyGirl says:

    Agreed. I just finished reading the book myself and had a hard time putting it down.

  18. Jill D. says:

    Okay, I just finished the book and wow, I was not prepared for what Mercy went through at the end. Briggs did just an absolute fanastic job of “showing” Mercy’s guilt and shame. Wow! I am just enthralled with Mercy. Ahhhh!! I can’t wait for the next book. I am totally hooked.

  19. Avid Reader says:

    Hey Jill, you and I both. Briggs is the bomb.

  20. redhead56 says:

    Brigg’s mercy thomas series is brililant.
    i love the whole feel of them
    i cant wait for more and more to come out
    i cant get enough!
    good job patricia briggs!

Leave a Reply

