The Hobbit Making Its Way to the Big Screen

movie-news.jpgBilbo Baggins will be making his next journey to Hollywood. Director, Peter Jackson and New Line Cinema have set aside their differences, to bring J.R.R Tolkien’s The Hobbit to a movie theatre near you. A director will be announced after the New Year. As a huge fan of the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, I am very excited about this news. I love fantasy movies and Lord of the Rings was a huge project for Jackson and one that I think he pulled off quite successfully. Lord of the Rings Trilogy grossed about 3 billion worldwide and won it’s film crew 17 Oscars. The screen debut for The Hobbit is tentatively scheduled for 2010 with Jackson serving as executive producer. Peter Jackson and his wife inherited creative stewardship of Tolkien’s fan base. The guarantee of making even more money with The Hobbit, will make anybody see reason even for a brief period of time.

via Time

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Hobbit Making Its Way to the Big Screen

  1. Kristie(J) says:

    I saw that too and was delighted. I loved how he did LOTR. I thought he really captured the mood and feel of the books and I’m hoping he does just as good a job with The Hobbit.
    I didn’t see anything but I wonder if he will have the same actor play Bilbo in The Hobbit as he did in LOTR. I thought it was very good casting.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    I didn’t see anything but I wonder if he will have the same actor play Bilbo in The Hobbit as he did in LOTR. I thought it was very good casting.

    I didn’t see anything about that either. It would make sense.

Leave a Reply

