Fictionwise, You Almost Got it Right

new_ebookslogo.gifFictionwise has made some new improvements in getting new books out for readers in a timely fashion. I love that. However, listing pre-orders with a release date a month in advance with the new books for the week? WTF? Come on now, just list the books that are being released on Super Tuesday. That’s all I ask. I am not concerned with ebooks for December. It’s all about instant gratification, people.

Of course, to be fair, you can put these ebooks in your “wish list” for later or in your cart for later. However, this process just annoys me. Most of the new ebooks released each week are most of the time books that I can’t read for another week or more. Yes, I am impatient. I like to read the books that I purchased. However, this is a minor complaint and an annoyance about their pre-order schedule. My advice would be: make December preorder titles available in December. See? Simple. Rant over. Anyway here are the titles that I have purchased or placed in my cart for later. Each week it gets to be fewer and fewer:

This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fictionwise, You Almost Got it Right

  1. Janine says:

    Have you read the other C.S. Harris books, Keishon? What Angels Fear and When Gods Die? I ask because from reading the first it seems like the kind of series that is best to read in order.

  2. Avid Reader says:

    Nope, but I have them both! I went ahead and invested in her historicals because I’ve heard such good things about them. Thanks for the heads up about them needing to be read in order. I figured as much.

  3. Janine says:

    I really enjoyed the first Harris, but haven’t been that motivated to read the second. I’ve noticed that I usually don’t do well with series that follow the same character or characters. Even with Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series, I absolutely loved the first, liked the second, and am not that much in the mood to continue.

  4. Avid Reader says:

    Well, you’re well ahead of me with Novak. I read her first and while I enjoyed it, I found her writing pretty choppy and hard to follow. I really can’t wait to start Sharon Shinn’s books that you all have reviewed at DA.

  5. Avid Reader says:

    Question: Does Shinn follow the same characters? I haven’t read the reviews, just glanced at the grades for fear of getting spoiled.

  6. Janine says:

    I love Novik’s writing style but she has given her Temeraire book this voice that sounds like it’s from the 19th century (reminiscent of Jane Austen to me), so I can understand why some might find it hard to follow.

    Re. Shinn, the Twelve Houses / Gillengaria series is the only one that follows the same characters, a group of them, but each book focuses on a different member or members of the group, so it doesn’t feel as repetitive to me as series that focus closely on the same one or two characters. Mystic and Rider is the best place to start with that series.

    Shinn’s YA series beginning with The Safe-Keeper’s Secret are related very loosely, and the main characters in each book don’t have a major role in the other books. Sometimes they make a tiny cameo appearance, that’s about it. But the books are set in the same world.

    The angel / Samaria series (my personal favorite) starts with Archangel, and most of the books in this series are set decades or even centuries apart. They all take place on the same world, but the characters don’t recur, except in Angel-Seeker, which takes place shortly after Archangel, and in “Fallen Angel” (a novella in To Weave a Web of Magic), which takes place about 15-20 years after that.

    Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

