Second Life: A Tech Savvy Way to Connect Readers & Authors Around The World

Recently I received  a press release for MJ Rose, where it stated that she was holding a author event/reading at Second Life on Sept 25th (yes, it’s already passed) for her latest release, The Reincarnationist, which is described as equal parts “modern day thriller, historical fiction and love story.” MIRA, an imprint of Harlequin, LTD was promoting her book at Second Life. I was like: Second Life? What is Second Life? So, I googled it.

secondlife-postcard.jpgSecond Life (SL) is a virtual online community launched and opened its doors to the public in 2003. The community boasts some 9 million residents. It is a community completely imagined and created by it’s “residents” or members.  It seems that publishers like Harlequin are looking for a more innovative way to connect tech savvy readers with their favorite authors in the virtual world–from all over the globe.  I think it’s rather neat.  I’m sorry I missed this opportunity. I wouldn’t be averse to meeting an author in a virtual online community setting if I’m never to have the chance otherwise in real life. I think this would be a great opportunity for readers and authors alike.

The basic membership for Second Life is free. You can graduate up in services for a fee(one of the things you can do is own an island for $/month). I joined up with the basic membership, disabled everything, just to have a look around. The pic is me (my avatar is so not cute) and I know I need to work on my hair and wardrobe. You can click to enlarge the post card of me in SL. You have to download the SL client (make sure to review the system requirements) and it doesn’t support Windows Vista.  I did a quick search and found several book clubs, cafes and such to chat about books with other readers online.  I’m sure something like this is wonderful for those who are already online gamers (who make up the majority of the residents at SL). I’m a newbie to this stuff but I’m learning.

As for book events, I’ll be on the look out for them. In fact I just received an email from the Bantam Dell Cafe that Diana Gabaldon will be doing a live reading of her newest release, Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade (which I graded an A) on Thursday, October 11 @ 6 PM SLT at the Amphitheatre on Bantam Dell Island. I hope to be there if I can figure out how everything works in this 3-D digital world.

[tags]Second Life Online Digital World[/tags]

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Second Life: A Tech Savvy Way to Connect Readers & Authors Around The World

  1. Kristie(J) says:

    I just went to a reading she did. Although it wasn’t from Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade. It was from her next Clare and Jamie book. She’s a wonderful speaker and very funny and you should go see her if possible. I enjoyed the evening and I’ve only read a couple of her books.

  2. Rosie says:

    I don’t know if I’ll join but I’ve bookmarked the sight. Thanks for posting about this. I always like to find and check out new things.

  3. Avid Reader says:

    I just went to a reading she did. Although it wasn’t from Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade. It was from her next Clare and Jamie book.

    WTF? Really? Oh, how cool. I would love to meet her in person but I don’t see her coming to my neck of the woods anytime soon.

    Hi Rosie, you’re welcome 🙂 I think it’s neat.

  4. bam says:

    I had to kill my 2nd Life. I was spending too much time there and NOT writing. 🙂

  5. CindyS says:

    I’ve heard about Second Life but wasn’t sure I could afford another addiction. So far much of my internet time is free and I just can’t see paying for weird stuff. I think 20/20 did a bit on it about how people live the life they wish they could online. Eg. A man and woman met and fell in love on Second Life where they could go out and dance together. Turns out that in real life the man is in a wheelchair. These two got married in real life and in Second Life and will go on dates in SL.

    Interesting concept – I guess being the phobia person I am I could learn to fly and jump out of planes. Huh. Gotta go!

    CindyS

  6. CindyS says:

    Ooops. I’m on Windows Vista – probably just saved me 😉

    CindyS

  7. Avid Reader says:

    I visited SL and I wasn’t overly impressed with it. First, I think I spend way too much time on the computer so I am not looking for another way to spend even more time on the computer.

    I am touched, though, by what you said Cindy, about the husband and wife realizing their dreams/fantasy of dancing together online while in reality it’s not even possible. I suppose this serves as some outlet for that type of thing.

    Bam, I hope you continue to write as I look forward to reading more of your books.

Leave a Reply

