Reader News! I Shall Not Want / May 2008

I Shall Not Want by Julia Spencer-Fleming will be the sixth entry in the Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne series coming May 2008 from Minotaur Books!

Expect to see more of the Van Alstyne family, more of how joining the New York State National Guard affects Clare’s life and ministry, a new officer joining the MKPD, and of course, lots and lots more Russ and Clare, as they struggle to come to grips with the events of All Mortal Flesh.

I’ve read all the books in the series and highly recommend this author if you enjoy cozy mysteries that are character driven. What is the series about you ask? The series centers around former army pilot turned Episcopal priest Clare Fergusson and her friendship with  police chief Russ Van Alystne of Millers Kill, New York. Each entry in this series has been consistently strong and I can’t wait to get my hands on this book! I’ve reviewed two of the books in the series here (To Darkness and To Death) and here (All Mortal Flesh). Check her out! The first book in the series is In the Bleak Midwinter.

About Keishon

Voracious reader of just about everything.
This entry was posted in Avid Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reader News! I Shall Not Want / May 2008

  1. vanessa jaye says:

    Now why haven’t I heard of this series before? I’m really, really, really going to have to go back to using the library, my bank balance just can’t keep up with theee great suggestions, ;-P

  2. nath says:

    Hmmm, sounds good, I’ll be checking it out 😀

  3. LinM says:

    I’m dreading the next book although I devoured the first 5. I read somewhere on Spencer-Fleming’s website, that she started with a story arc for the first 5 books but book 6 is treading into new territory.

    Part of me trusts that book 6 will be as compelling and engrossing as the first 5 books. But part of me is a lone fan crying “Leave the ending open and ambiguous – write a different series – create new characters for me to love”.

    Oh well, an author’s muse will take her where it takes her. Hopefully book 6 will be wonderful and I will feel like an idiot for ever doubting.

  4. Avid Reader says:

    Hi Vanessa! Hi Nath! Hope you pick up the first book. I’d love to know your thoughts on it. Next to Karin Slaughter, I loved Ms. Fleming’s books.

    Hi LinM. I’m not really worried, more like anxious to see where Clare and Russ go from here. I know I am counting the days when they finally get together! I’ve come up with my own scenes if you can imagine. I hope the pay-off is worth the wait! Unfortunately, this is one of the few remaining series that I am anxious to read that has been consistently pretty good so far.

  5. Hi All! I recommend reading every book in the series. I stumbled upon the first book by chance and then completely devoured the remaining 4 books within a week. Like Avid Reader I am anxiously awaiting the 6th book! Though, I read an interview with JSP and she hinted that there would be two more books. Personally I think she should just get Clare and Russ together already and move on to a completely new series.
    May 2008 can’t come fast enough!

Leave a Reply

